Traffic Tickets in Wyoming
Stay Informed on Ticket History
Stay up to date on the traffic ticket history of anyone in the U.S.—search public court records for a low fee.
Truthfinder is freakishly accurate... Really scary how much information is out there. - Zak K.
Disclaimer: TruthFinder cannot be used for employment or tenant screening. TruthFinder is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Report Act. Please note that this is a subscription-based service.
Continue reading this page to learn more about responding to a traffic ticket in Wyoming.
NOTE: In Wyoming, you'll be dealing with either a municipal court (city-level tickets) or circuit court (tickets issued by the Sheriff Department or Highway Patrol).
WY Traffic Ticket Fines & Penalties
Wyoming traffic ticket fines vary depending on the severity of your traffic violation.
Refer to your WY traffic ticket for the total fine amount. If you do not have your WY traffic ticket, please contact the relevant circuit court or municipal court listed on your ticket for more details.
Dismiss a Traffic Ticket
There is no point system in Wyoming. However, if you are conviction of more than 3 moving violations within 12 months, the Wyoming Department of Transportation (DOT) will suspend your driver’s license.
Depending on your traffic ticket, you may be able to attend a defensive driving course to dismiss a traffic ticket.
To check your eligibility, you'll need to refer to your traffic ticket or contact the appropriate WY circuit court or municipal court on your ticket.
Pay a Traffic Ticket in Wyoming
NOTE: Please refer to your traffic ticket to find out if you must appear in court.
Depending on the court handling your traffic ticket, you may be able to pay your fine:
- A $5 convenience per citation charge applies for online payments.
- By mail.
- In person.
To get specific instructions on how to proceed, you'll need to refer to your WY traffic ticket or contact the appropriate circuit or municipal court (see traffic ticket).
Fight a WY Traffic Ticket
To fight your traffic ticket in Wyoming, you must appear in court. Depending on the type of ticket you received, your court date may be listed on your traffic ticket.
For more specific details about your court appearance, refer to your ticket or contact the traffic court listed on your citation.
Lost Your Traffic Ticket?
If you've lost your WY traffic citation, you'll need to contact the appropriate circuit court or municipal court directly for information.
You may need to provide some personal information so they can find your citation, such as your:
- Full name.
- Date of birth.
- Wyoming driver's license number.
Fines & Penalties for Commercial Drivers
If you're a commercial driver in Wyoming, you must notify your employer within 30 days of a traffic ticket conviction. This rule applies to any type vehicle you drive; commercial or non-commercial.
If you're found guilty of the following major offenses, you'll lose your commercial driver license (CDL) for 1 year:
- A commercial motor vehicle (CMV) driver not remaining at the scene of an accident.
- Driving a CMV with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04% or higher.
- Driving a CMV while under the influence of any controlled substance.
- Failure to follow implied consent laws.
- Causing a fatality due to negligence in the operation of a CMV.
- Committing a felony with a CMV which includes distributing, making and/or dispensing a controlled substance.
- Operating a CMV when you have been disqualified to drive or having your license suspended, revoked or cancelled.
For more information, please read our CDL Suspensions page.
Wyoming Traffic Tickets: FAQs
You can visit our Traffic Ticket FAQ page for more info about the following topics: