Ticket Fines and Penalties in Wyoming
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Wyoming Traffic Ticket Fines and Costs
WY traffic tickets fines vary by violation, but cost the same amount throughout the state.
Check your ticket for the fine amount; if you can't find it or the officer left it blank, contact the court.
NOTE: Can't find your citation? Head over to Lost WY Traffic Tickets.
Court Costs and Other Surcharges
Generally, court costs are the same throughout the state, too―but they do depend on the court.
Your judge can charge the following DWUI surcharges:
- 1st offense: Up to $750
- 2nd offense: $200-$750
- 3rd offense: $750-$3,000
- 4th offense: Up to $10,000
Understand there are other charges associated with DWUI violations, as well as penalties. Refer to WY DWUI for more information.
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)
- Pay the fine, possibly online.
- Have a violation on your driving record.
- Risk license suspension or revocation.
- See increased auto insurance rates.
- Possibly attend a substance abuse course for DWUI-related violations.
Learn more about
Paying your Traffic Ticket »
Auto Insurance Rate Increase
Your auto insurance company probably will increase your rates after a traffic conviction.
Fortunately, rate increases typically don't take place until it's time to renew the policy, which gives you time to:
- Ask your provider if taking a defensive driving course would make you eligible for a discount.
- Look for more affordable car insurance rates online.
Wyoming Traffic Ticket Penalties
Similar to traffic ticket fines, traffic ticket penalties are the same throughout the state. The most common penalties include license suspension and revocation.
WY Driver's License Suspension, Revocation, and Cancellation
License Suspension: Wyoming has two types of suspension: Mandatory, which lasts for a specific amount of time, and indefinite, which has no definite end date. Which one applies, as well as eligibility for a probationary driver's license, depends on the violation and the suspension type.
License Revocation: License revocation is the equivalent of license cancellation. You can apply to have them reinstated, but you must undergo an investigation after you finish the revocation period.
License Cancellation: In Wyoming, license revocations are considered license cancellations. However, there are times when the state might cancel a driver's license due to issues unrelated to violations, such as providing false information during the application process.
“Losing the Privilege to Drive" in the Driver License Manual explains how a person can lose his license to suspension and revocation.
Examples include certain moving violations, and violations involving:
- DWUI offenses.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Reckless driving.
- Homicide by vehicle.
- Commission of a felony related to operating the vehicle.
Driving Record Suspensions
Wyoming doesn't use a point system, but the state does record each moving violation on your driving record; if you accumulate 4 violations within 12 months, the state will suspend your license for 90 days.
Each subsequent violation carries an additional suspension of 90 days.
Penalties for Drivers Younger than 21
The WY Driver License Manual fully outlines penalties drivers younger than 21 years old face for certain violations.
For quick reference, note that if you're younger than 21 years old, the most common concerns are driving while under the influence (DWUI) and having any of your restricted license privileges suspended.
For drivers younger than 21 years old, DWUI means operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of 0.02% or higher.
It also means license suspension.
- 1st offense: License suspension for 90 days.
- Subsequent offenses (within 2 years): License suspension for 6 months.
Drivers who haven't been issued probationary licenses in the last five years or previously convicted of DWUI might be eligible for limited driving privileges.
Drivers with instruction permits or intermediate licenses can't move on to the next licensing phase (an intermediate or full license) if any of their restricted license privileges are suspended.
The suspended privileges must be restored before the driver can apply for the next license. Reinstatement requirements vary.
Penalties for Wyoming Commercial Drivers
CDL drivers must notify their employers within 30 days of a violation.
Some violations carry federally-mandated penalties serious enough to impact a driver's income and even career.
You face license suspension or disqualification for the following major offenses:
- Operating a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a BAC of 0.04%.
- Refusal of a sobriety test.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Commission of a felony with the vehicle.
- Operating a CMV with a suspended, revoked, or canceled CDL.
- Negligent driving resulting in fatality.
The following are considered serious offenses:
- Driving (speeding) 15 mph or more over the limit.
- Reckless driving.
- Improper lane changing.
- Driving too closely behind another vehicle.
- Operating a CMV without having a CDL.
- Operating a CMV without having your CDL in your possession.
- Operating a CMV without the proper CDL endorsement.
- Violating a state law of texting while driving.
Subsequent offenses within 3 years bring more serious penalties:
- 2nd Offense: License suspension/disqualification for 60 days.
- 3rd Offense: License suspension/disqualification for 120 days.
You can lose your license for 180 days to one year if you violate a driver or vehicle out-of-service order while transporting:
- Nonhazardous materials.
- Hazardous materials required to be placarded, or while driving a vehicle designed to transport 16 passengers or more.
Refer to the FMCSA’s Rules and Regulations for full outlines of CDL driver penalties, and check out the state's Driver License Manual for Commercial & Heavy Vehicles for additional information.