Traffic Safety Laws in Wyoming
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
With few exceptions, everyone riding in a vehicle and older must wear a seat belt. Passengers who are 9 years old and under must be in a child restraint safety seat.
It's up to the driver to ensure all passengers follow this rule.
The only exceptions:
- U.S. postal employees when acting as mail carriers
- Anyone with a doctor's note excusing them from wearing a seat belt
- Anyone unable to obey the law due to all seat belts being in use
- Anyone riding in a vehicle that isn't required to have seat belts
Child Car Seat Laws
Children must be properly restrained whether in a rear-facing, forward-facing, or booster seat. Depending on the age, weight and height of your child, you will have different requirements. Generally children 8 years old and younger must be in a child seat in the back of the car.
For information on Wyoming child restraints, see the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration guidelines.
Cell Phones and Texting
In Wyoming, texting on your cell phone is banned for all drivers, regardless of age or driving experience.
If you are a new driver, you are also banned from any use of a cell phone, even if you are using a hands-free device. For more information on cell phone usage while driving,contact the Wyoming Department of Transportation.
Minors must wear an approved helmet when operating or riding a motorcycle.
To report possible drunk or other unsafe drivers, or other types of highway emergencies, call the Wyoming Highway Patrol at (800) 442-9090.
Call 911 or your local police department for non-highway emergency situations.
While Wyoming doesn't have any statewide laws specifically addressing the issue of leaving children unattended in a vehicle, the state considers it to be child endangerment for a caregiver to knowingly or with criminal neglect violate their duty of care, protection, and support of a child's life or health.