Drivers Permits in Wyoming
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
With DMV Cheat Sheets, it's like having the answers before you take the test. Only $9.95!
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Wyoming Driver's Permits
The Wyoming Department of Transportation (DOT) requires all new teen drivers under 17 years old to complete its graduated driver licensing (GDL) program.
Applying for your learner's permit is the first step.With a WY permit, you can begin driving under the supervision of a licensed driver and practice for your road test.
This page contains information about WY learner's permits and the next steps to obtain your WY driver's license.
New to Wyoming?
If you have a learner's permit from another state, you may drive with in in Wyoming as long as you adhere to the same licensing restrictions that were imposed in your previous state. That is, if you could only drive during certain hours while accompanied by a licensed driver BEFORE you moved to Wyoming, you must still follow those rules.
If you wish to transfer your out-of-state permit to a Wyoming permit, please contact the Department of Transportation for details. You will likely need to follow the same steps listed below.
Apply for Wyoming Learner's Permit
You must be at least 15 years old to obtain a Wyoming learner's permit.
NOTE: If you're 14 years old, you may be eligible for a restricted learner's permit. See “Restricted Learner's Permit" below.
To apply, you must visit your local WY DMV office and:
- Submit a completed Wyoming Driver License Card Application (Form FSDL-705).
- Your parent/legal guardian must sign your application.
- Submit proof of your identity and legal U.S. presence.
- For a complete list of acceptable documents, visit the WY DOT website.
- Pass a vision exam.
- Pass a DMV written test.
- Have your photograph taken.
- Pay the $40 learner's permit fee.
When practicing driving, a licensed driver who is at least 18 years old must supervise you. You must hold your Wyoming learner's permit for at least 10 days before you can apply for your intermediate driver's license.
Restricted Permit Requirements
The WY DOT offers restricted learner's permits to new drivers who are 14 to 15 years old. If you meet the following requirements, you may be eligible for this permit and begin driving earlier:
- Your residence must be more than 5 miles from your school.
- You have a regular job (at least 10 hours per week), which is more than 5 miles from your home.
- You have a license to work in your parent's business.
- You're subject to other extreme circumstances. Contact the WY DOT for more information.
To apply, you'll need to submit a Restricted Class “RC" or “RM" Driver's License packet (Form FSDL-708A) and mail it to:
Wyoming Highway Patrol
Restricted License Investigations
5300 Bishop Blvd
Cheyenne, WY 82009
The process may take up to 6 weeks. If approved, you'll need to visit your local Wyoming driver exam office and:
- Show Real ID documents proving your identity.
- Pass a written permit test.
- Pass a vision screening.
- Pay the $40 fee.
Taking the Written Wyoming Permit Test
When you apply for a learner's permit in Wyoming, you must pass a written exam.
The test contains questions about rules of the road and safe driving practices. The DOT will also test you on:
- Identifying traffic signs (shape, color, symbol, etc.).
- Identifying signals and pavement markings.
- Traffic laws, safety rules, accident prevention, and car equipment.
You should take some time to get ready for your WY written permit test by studying the Wyoming Driver Manual and if you want to ensure passing the exam on your first try, we suggest taking an online practice test.
If you fail the written test, you can usually take it again the same day. However, the WY DOT may make you come back the next business day to retake it if you answered a majority of questions incorrectly.
Wyoming Learner's Permit Restrictions
Once you have your driver's permit, you will be allowed to drive ONLY while accompanied by a licensed adult who is at least 18 years old.
If you have a restricted learner's permit, you can only drive:
- From 5 a.m. to 8 p.m.
- Within 50 miles of your house.
Behind-the-Wheel Driving Requirements
While you have your Wyoming learner's permit, you must complete driving practice before you can apply for your intermediate permit.
You must complete at least 50 hours of behind-the-wheel-training, including at least 10 hours at night. You may only practice driving if a licensed driver 18 years old or older accompanies you.
You'll need to keep a log of your supervised driving hours and provide a completed Behind-the-Wheel Driving Certification (Form FSCDL-01) to the WY DOT when applying for your driver's license.
Once you complete the behind-the-wheel requirement and have held your Wyoming driver's permit for at least 10 days, you're eligible to move on to the next stage of the GDL program.
Next Step: WY Intermediate Permit
If you're under 17 years old, you can apply for an intermediate driver's license that allows you to drive unsupervised during certain hours. Otherwise you must wait until you turn 17 years old to apply for your full driver's license.
You can apply for your intermediate permit once you have:
- Turned 16 years old.
- Held your Wyoming learner's permit for 10 days.
- Completed your supervised driving hours and submitted your certification form. See “Behind-the-Wheel Driving Requirements" above.
For more information about obtaining your full or intermediate driver's license, read our page about Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Wyoming.
- Application for a Restricted Driver License
- Use this form to apply for a driver's license through the Wyoming DOT if you are under the minimum age for a normal license. MUST be notarized and signed by your parent/legal guardian, school, and employer if you’re applying to drive for or to a job.