Paperwork When Selling a Car in Wyoming
Custom Wyoming Bill of Sale for $4.99
Simplifing the sale of a vehicle between private parties. Just enter the info, then download and print. It's that easy!
- State specific for your transaction
- Quick auto-fill feature
- Just fill out, print, and sign
Paperwork Required to Sell Your Car in WyomingIf you're selling your car in Wyoming, there are certain rules and regulations that the Wyoming Department of Transportation (DOT) has in place in order to properly transfer ownership of the vehicle.
As the seller, the process is fairly straightforward, as most of the responsibility is on the buyer. If you have any questions about the process, contact the WY DOT at (307) 777-4825.
Selling a Vehicle in Wyoming
To sell your car in Wyoming, you simply need to transfer ownership by filling out the title assignment on the back of the car title certificate. Your vehicle registration will immediately expire upon transfer of ownership, which means that you are responsible for removing the license plates.
If you decide to acquire a new vehicle after the sale, your old license plates can be transferred to the new vehicle within 45 days.
For tips on selling a car and planning ahead for legal and regulatory obligations, consult our detailed Guide to Selling Your Car.
Your car title is the most crucial document you'll need when selling a car. However, other documents may be necessary for special circumstances. For example, if your car currently has a lien on it, you may need to submit proof of a lien release.
A Wyoming bill of sale is also recommended. You should give a copy to the buyer and keep one for your own records. You can use the bill of sale to verify the details of the sale with the Wyoming Department of Transportation.
If you have questions regarding the documents necessary for selling a car, contact your county clerk's office.
Duplicate WY Certificate of Title
If your car title has been lost or destroyed, you must apply for a duplicate title before you can sell your car in Wyoming. You will need to submit a completed Application for Certificate of Title and VIN/HIN Inspection (Form MV-300A) to the Wyoming DMV.
You will also need to pay a replacement title fee. Depending on your county, there may be other requirements.
For more information, visit our Replacing a Lost Title in Wyoming page.
Duplicate Registration in Wyoming
Your car must be registered at all times in order to comply with Wyoming driving laws.
If you have lost your registration, contact the Wyoming DMV to find out how this will affect your ability to sell a car properly and legally.
To apply for a duplicate registration, visit our Replacing a Lost Registration in Wyoming page.
Vehicle History Reports
A vehicle history report can offer detailed information about the state of your vehicle, which can help you determine appropriate pricing and advertising.
Buyers may also request a vehicle history report before they commit to buying your car, so having one handy may speed up your sale. Buyers are more likely to respond to a seller who exhibits honesty and transparency, so ordering your own vehicle history report is a good idea.
For more information, visit our Vehicle History Reports page.
Application for Certificate of Title and VIN/HIN Inspection
Use this form to apply for a Wyoming DOT title for your vehicle, watercraft, or motorhome. Also used for VIN inspection. Form MUST be notarized.
|Download Open the form|