Boat Registration and Licenses in Wyoming

Get on the water

Get Your Boating License Online!

Our course helps you learn quickly and easily, using state-specific questions and easy-to-understand answers.

  • Over 1 million certified and counting
  • Unlimited free retries
  • Pay only when you pass

The Wyoming Game and Fish Department (WFGD) oversees all vessel titling and registration. Keep reading to learn more about WY boat titles and registrations AND the qualifications needed to boat on the Cowboy State's waterways. 

Wyoming Boats to Title & Register

ALL motorized boats (including those with trolling motors) must be titled AND registered with the Wyoming Game and Fish Department. You CANNOT apply for a new or transferred vessel registration unless your watercraft is titled. 

You don't need to worry about titling and registering the following types of vessels:

  • Non-motorized:
    • Canoes and kayaks. 
    • Sailboats.
    • Sailboards.
    • Rowboats.
  • Vessels owned by an entity of the U.S. government.
  • Boats registered in another state and not kept in Wyoming for more than 90 consecutive days. 

If you'd like confirmation about whether your boat requires a title and registration, call any WFGD office

Title & Register Your Boat in WY

BEFORE submitting a registration application to the Game and Fish Department, you need to make sure your boat has a Wyoming title AND valid hull identification number (HIN).

WY Boat HIN & Title

If your boat doesn't have a HIN, you will need to visit your local WGFD regional office to apply for one. 

When your vessel has a HIN but has never been titled in Wyoming, you'll need to complete a HIN inspection, at any law enforcement agency OR participating WGFD office (call ahead to make sure the agency performs HIN inspections). 

The authorized inspection agent will need to fill out the HIN inspection portion of the Application for Certificate of Title and VIN/HIN Inspection Form (Form MV-300A) for you. 

Then, to apply for your Wyoming vessel title, head to your local county clerk's office with the following: 

Once you have your Wyoming boat HIN and title, you can register your vessel! 

Register Your Boat

To register your boat with the WY Game and Fish Department, start by collecting the following items:

Then, you can submit your registration application by any of the following methods:

  • In person at any WGFD regional office
  • By mail to:
    • Wyoming Game and Fish Department Headquarters
    • 5400 Bishop Boulevard
    • Cheyenne, WY 82006

You can choose to register your boat for 1 year OR 3 years

Wyoming Vessel Title & Registration Fees

The costs associated with titling and registering your boat with the WGFD are as follows:

  • Boat title: $15. 
  • Original/renewed vessel registration (includes aquatic invasive species fee) valid for:
    • 1 year: $25.
    • 3 years: $70. 
  • Replacement:
    • Boat registration: $5.
    • Vessel title: $15. 
  • Sales tax:
    • State: 4% of the sale price.
    • Local: Varies according to your WY county of residence—check out the most recent tax rate chart for specifics. 

WY Boat Renewals & Replacements

Boat Registration Renewals

Wyoming boat registrations are valid for either 1 year OR 3 years. The registration will expire on December 31st in the final registration year; the last 2 digits on your hull decal indicate your expiration year. 

The WY Game and Fish Department will  mail you a renewal notice before your registration expires. You can renew your vessel registration by any of the following methods:

Remember, even if you don't receive a renewal notice, you are still responsible for renewing your boat's registration on time! 

Replace a Lost Boat Title & Registration

If your boat's title and/or registration are lost or damaged, you can request duplicates

To request a replacement WY vessel title, you'll need to provide the following at your county clerk's office

  • A notarized affidavit stating why you need a replacement title (call your county clerk's office for specifics on what you should include in the affidavit).
  • The $15 fee to replace a boat title.

To apply for a duplicate boat registration, gather the following items:

Submit the above items for a replacement boat registration:

  • In person at a WY Game and Fish Department regional office
    OR 
  • By mail to:
    • Wyoming Game and Fish Department Headquarters
    • 5400 Bishop Boulevard
    • Cheyenne, WY 82006

Boater Qualifications in Wyoming

In Wyoming, no one younger than 16 years old can operate a registered motorboat UNLESS accompanied by an adult aged 18 years or older.

To improve your boating skills, you may also consider taking a boater education class—check out the WGFD's boating education page for a list of affiliated boating safety course providers. 

Not only will completing a course make you a safer boater, but it could also qualify you for discounts on boat insurance. Keep WY waters AND your wallet safe by enrolling today!

DMV.org BBB Business Review
11,242

Number of Organ Donors who registered through DMV.org