Traffic Tickets in West Virginia
Stay Informed on Ticket History
Stay up to date on the traffic ticket history of anyone in the U.S.—search public court records for a low fee. Unlimited searches for 30 days—only $23.
"TruthFinder is a very accurate, updated system. Their information is proper and can be very helpful too." - Zak K.
Disclaimer: TruthFinder cannot be used for employment or tenant screening. TruthFinder is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Report Act. Please note that this is a subscription-based service.
Continue reading this page for more details about traffic tickets in West Virginia.
Traffic Ticket Fines and Penalties
In West Virginia, traffic ticket fines and court costs vary by violation and court. Your traffic ticket should show the full amount. If you have specific questions, you'll need to contact the appropriate WV traffic court.
Driving Record Points
When you've received a WV traffic ticket, you will receive points on your driving record, which will remain there for 2 years. Once you accumulate 5 points, the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will warn you that your driver's license is close to being suspended.
Pay a Traffic Ticket in West Virginia
Depending on your violation and WV court, you may be able to pay your traffic ticket fines:
- By mail.
- By phone.
- In person.
For specific details on how to pay your ticket fines, you'll need to check your WV traffic ticket or contact the relevant court directly.
Fight a WV Traffic Ticket
NOTE: Failure to respond to your traffic ticket or appear in WV court by the deadline could result in a driver’s license suspension.
To plead “not guilty" and fight your traffic ticket in West Virginia, you must appear in court. Refer to your traffic ticket or contact the WV court handling your case for information about your arraignment date and how to request a hearing.
NOTE: Depending on your violation, you may want to hire a WV traffic ticket attorney.
Lost Your Traffic Ticket?
To get ticket information after losing your WV traffic ticket, you need to contact the West Virginia court handling your ticket.
Be sure to ask about your ticket fines, deadlines, and payment options.
Fines & Penalties for Commercial Drivers
When you're convicted of a WV traffic violation with a commercial driver's license (CDL), you're required to notify your employer within 30 days.
You'll lose your CDL for 1 year if you get a conviction due to any of the following offenses:
- Driving with a suspended, revoked or cancelled CDL or being disqualified from having a CDL.
- Operating your commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04% or higher.
- Refusing to submit to a BAC test.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Committing a felony while operating a CMV. This also covers the use of a CMV in distributing, making or dispensing a controlled substance.
- Operating a CMV while under the influence of a controlled substance.
- A fatality that is the result of operating a CMV negligently.
You can learn more on our CDL Suspensions in WV page.
West Virginia Traffic Tickets: FAQs
Go to our Traffic Ticket FAQ page to learn more about responding to a traffic ticket in West Virginia. Topics include: