Ticket Fines and Penalties in West Virginia
Find a Traffic Ticket Attorney
Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed.
- Quick step-by-step process.
- Matched to Best Attorney.
- Free Service. No Hidden Charges. Confidential.
West Virginia Traffic Ticket Fines and Costs
Fines vary by court. This means a traffic ticket fine for running a stop sign in Beckley may not be the same in Morgantown.
Your total fine amount will be listed on the citation. If you have any questions, contact the presiding court.
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)
- Pay the fine.
- Option to plea bargain penalties.
- Incur points on your driving record (could lead to license suspension/revocation).
- Possibly incur increase on auto insurance rates.
- Possibly have points reduced by attending a Defensive Driving Course.
Learn more about
Pay Traffic Ticket.
(Plead Not Guilty)
- Contest traffic ticket via trial.
- Choose to represent yourself or hire an attorney.
- Possibly lose option to plea bargain for lesser penalties.
- No penalties if found not guilty, but must pay court/attorney fees.
Learn more about
Fight Traffic Ticket.
Auto Insurance Rate Increase
Depending on your provider, you may also experience a jump in your car insurance rate. Keep in mind that you can always counter a rate increase by comparing auto insurance quotes online.
West Virginia Traffic Ticket Penalties
In addition to fines, you'll also face penalties. This includes points and the possible suspension or revocation of your WV driver's license.
West Virginia Point System
Traffic ticket convictions comes with points. Depending on the nature of the violation, you may see a number of points assigned to your driving record. The more severe the violation, the higher the point total. Even if you're ticketed outside of West Virginia, you'll still incur points.
After reaching 5 points, the Division of Motor Vehicles will mail you a warning letter, suggesting better driving habits.
Your WV driver's license will be suspended if you accumulate a certain number of points. The length of the suspension depends on the point total:
- 12 to 13 points: 30 days
- 14 to 15 points: 45 days
- 16 to 17 points: 60 days
- 18 to 19 points: 90 days
WV Driver's License Suspension and Revocation
Suspension and revocation are the most common terms associated with loss of driving privileges.
License Suspension: The temporary loss of your driving privileges. You may resume driving again once all reinstatement requirements are met.
License Revocation: The termination of your West Virginia driver's license. After the revocation period has ended, you must reapply for a new driver's license, requiring passing the knowledge and skill tests again.
Your WV driver's license will be revoked if convicted of any of the following infractions
- Drag racing.
- Leaving the scene of an accident resulting in injury or death.
- Manslaughter or negligent homicide resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle.
- Driving while your license is revoked or suspended.
- A second conviction for failing to pay for gas.
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI).
The length of the suspension or revocation depends on the nature of the infraction and driving record. Repeat offenses, for instance, come with lengthier penalties.
For more information about license suspensions, please refer to our Suspended License page.
For more on traffic violations and penalties that affect your CDL, consult the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.