Driving Records in West Virginia

On This Page

You can order your WV driving record through the West Virginia DMV:

Keep reading below for more details!

Driving Records in West Virginia

The West Virginia Department of Transportation provides driving records for licensed residents of West Virginia. A WV driving record essentially provides a history of your driving activity in the state.

Your WV driving record contains any traffic violations and any points you've accrued against your driver's license as a result of those violations.

West Virginia Point System

Points are placed on your record according to the severity of your violation.

In West Virginia you face suspension of your driver's license if you've accrued 12 points.

Points placed on your record for a given infraction will remain on your record for 2 years. But note that the infraction itself stays on your record for longer – 5 years.

You can have 3 points reduced from your driving record by taking a state-approved defensive driving course. Note that you may only take a course for point reduction once in a 12 month period.

NOTE: Points on your record can affect your insurance premium. The more points you have, the higher your auto insurance rates.

Who Sees Your Driving Record

Driving records are commonly ordered by:

  • Employers – Driving records are often requested during the hiring process or in review of an employee who drives on the job.
  • Insurance companies – Your WV driving record can actually be factored into your auto insurance premiums.

Need access to publicly available driving history?

If you need to pull only publicly available driving history—to include tickets and court records—our partner below can help you get this information instantly.

Note that this product cannot be used for official driving records, employment, or tenant screening—this partner is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act.

Fast Access for Peace of Mind

Publicly Available Driving History

Get instant access to tickets, court records, and other public information with this comprehensive background check subscription service.

  • View violations, convictions, and court records
  • One-stop public record search
  • Get results within seconds

Disclaimer: BeenVerified cannot be used for employment or tenant screening. BeenVerified is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Report Act.

Ordering a WV Driving Record

You can order your West Virginia driving record:

  • Online
  • In person.
  • By mail.
  • Via e-mail or fax.

In Person

You can order your driving record in person at any WV DMV office. You will need to provide:

  • A completed Request for Driving Record (DMV-101-PS1).
  • Proper identification:
    • Your driver's license.
      OR
    • A federal or state-issued ID.
  • Payment for the applicable fee.
    • (See “Fees for Driving Records" below.)

By Mail

You can order your driving record by mail by sending in the following:

  • A completed Request for Driving Record (DMV-101-PS1).
  • A copy of your state-issued photo ID or driver's license.
    • If you don't have a photo ID, you'll need to provide a copy of your birth certificate and Social Security card.
    • If you can't provide the required identification, the DMV might issue you a driving record, but with all personal information omitted.
  • The driver's license number and name for each record you're requesting.
    • If you cannot provide the driver's license number, your fee will increase by $8.50 per record.
  • Your fee payment.
    • (See “Fees for Driving Records" below.)

Mail all of the above to:

WV DMV
Driving Records Section
PO Box 17020
Charleston, WV 25317

Indicate clearly on your request where you want the record(s) mailed.

By E-Mail or Fax

You can also e-mail or fax your request to the following:

  • E-mail: DMVDrivingRecordFax@wv.gov.
  • Fax: (304) 957-7584.

NOTE: If you e-mail or fax your request, you must follow up with a phone call to process your payment at (304) 926-3802.

Employer & Insurance Agency Requests

Insurance companies and employers most commonly order driving records of other drivers.

When ordering another person's West Virginia driving record, you may only submit your request by mail (see above) AND you'll need to include a Driving Record Release Authorization (DMV-101-PS2) completed by the driver whose records you are requesting.

Any request for another driver's record NOT submitted with a release form must be written on a company's letterhead and must provide a reason for the request that conforms to the Uniform Motor Vehicles Records Disclosure Act.

Fees for Driving Records in WV

Driving records come with a fee of $7.50 per name. However, if ordering by mail, your fee will be $8.50 if you cannot provide the driver's license number for the record you're requesting.

If this is the case, you'll need to provide the driver's date of birth and Social Security number instead.

Accepted Payment Methods

  • In person or by mail: Cash, check, or money order.
  • E-mail or fax: Make a follow-up call to (304) 926-3802 to make your payment over the phone.

Correcting Errors on Your Driving Record

It's important to keep your driving record accurate and up to date. If you find an error in your history or need to make changes to your West Virginia driving records, contact the WV DOT at:

  • (800) 642-9066 (West Virginia residents only).
  • (304) 558-3900 (all other callers).
  • (800) 742-6991 (hearing impaired).
  • E-mail: dot.dmvcommissioner@wv.gov.

Forms

DMV-101-PS1
Request for Driving Record
Request your own driving record or that of somebody else from the DMV for reasons allowed by law.
DMV-101-PS2
Driving Record Release Authorization
Give the West Virginia DMV permission to release your driving record to someone other than yourself.

Related Products and Services

DMV.ORG BBB Business Review
11,242

Number of Organ Donors who registered through DMV.ORG