Drivers Permits in West Virginia
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
With DMV Cheat Sheets, it's like having the answers before you take the test. Only $9.95!
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
In a nationwide effort to reduce the number of accidents and fatalities among West Virginia teen drivers, the state has initiated a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program. Under the GDL, teens that are beginning their driving journey in West Virginia must reach certain milestones prior to getting an unrestricted driver's license.
The first step on your path to your West Virginia driver's license is to obtain your instruction permit (learner's permit). Below you will find everything you need to know about the process, including what documents are required, and your instruction permit restrictions.
For additional information, you can contact the West Virginia Department of Transportation (DOT) at:
- (304) 558-3900.
- (800) 642-9066 (WV residents only).
- TTY users: (800) 742-6991.
New to West Virginia?
If you're new to West Virginia and you have a permit from your previous state, the time you spent in the out-of-state GDL program will be credited towards your WV instruction permit, as long as you present a current driver record when you begin the application process.
For more information, please see our page on WV driving records.
Apply for a WV Level 1 Instruction Permit
To apply for a West Virginia instruction permit, you must:
- Be at least 15 years old.
- Successfully pass the written test.
In order to take the test, you'll need to provide the following documents:
- A completed Application for driver's License or ID Card (Form DMV-DS-23P) with written consent from a parent or legal guardian.
- A Driver's Eligibility certificate issued by your county school board.
- This form certifies that you are attending school and making forward academic progress.
- Proof of identity (birth certificate, valid U.S. passport, Consular Report of Birth Abroad).
- Proof of Social Security number (Social Security card, W-2 form, 1099 form).
- Proof of legal name change, if applicable (certified birth certificate, court order with name change).
- 2 documents of residency (WV bank statement, paycheck that shows your current address, Social Security benefits letter).
For more information about these documents, please refer to this list of acceptable proofs.
NOTE: West Virginia does not currently require teens to complete driver's education in order to get their license.
HOWEVER, if you successfully complete an approved Driver's Ed course, you will be exempt from the behind-the-wheel requirements listed below, as that practice driving time is incorporated in the course curriculum.
It's also important to note that a Driver's Ed course will make you a far smarter and safer driver, and better prepare you for the driving environment. For more information about driver's education, please visit our Driver's Ed in West Virginia page.
Taking the Written Test in West Virginia
The written test is based on information about state-specific traffic laws, road signs, and safe driving techniques discussed in the West Virginia Driver Handbook. You'll learn things like safe stopping distances and right of way. In addition to this exam, you'll also need to take and successfully pass a vision test and pay a $7.50 permit fee.
Behind-the-Wheel Driving Requirements
With your instruction permit in your possession, you'll need to:
- Complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel (BTW) supervised driving.
- 10 hours must be during the evening.
- Log your hours on a 50-Hour Certification Log (Form DMV-10-GDL).
- Must be logged and certified by your parent or guardian.
Note: Remember, if you complete an approved Driver's Ed course, this driving time will be incorporated into your curriculum.
Learner's Permit Driving Restrictions
While you practice driving with your permit, there are a few restrictions that you must follow at all times:
- You must be accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years old or over.
- You may only drive between the hours of 5:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m.
- You may only have 2 passengers that are not immediate family members in addition to your supervising adult.
- All occupants must use safety belts.
- No cellphone use, including texting.
- You must follow a zero tolerance alcohol policy.
Replacing Your Permit in West Virginia
If you need to replace your instruction permit, the process is pretty simple. Just bring the proof of identity, Social Security, and residency documents mentioned above with you to your local DMV Regional Office.
For more information, please refer to our Replacing a Lost License page.
Your Next Step: Get Your Level 2 Intermediate License
Now that you're ready to continue your journey towards being a safe and responsible driver, your next step in the GDL process is to get your intermediate license.
For more information, please refer to our Teen Driver's License page.
Application for a Drivers License or Photo ID Card
West Virginia DMV application for an original, duplicate, OR renewed learner's permit, driver's license, motorcycle license, OR state identification card.
|Download Open the form|
50-Hour Certification Log for Drivers License Applicants Under Age 18
West Virginia driver's license applicants under 18 years old use this form to log the amount of practice driving hours completed.
|Download Open the form|