Drivers Ed in West Virginia
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
Driver's Education in West Virginia
If you're a new West Virginia driver, you won't need to complete a Driver's Ed course, but you will need to satisfy the requirements of the West Virginia Department of Transportation (DOT) graduated driver's licensing (GDL) program.
Though not required, taking a driver's education course can help you ace your DMV written permit test and driving tests. Completing a Driver's Ed course will also waive the required supervised driving hours when applying for your first driver's license. You'll also likely be better prepared to face the challenges and responsibilities of a new driver.
On this page, you'll find information about the steps you'll need to take to get behind the wheel with your first unrestricted driver's license in West Virginia.
West Virginia Young Driver Requirements
The West Virginia Department of Transportation's GDL program applies to all new drivers who are younger than 18 years old. You can start the program once you turn 15 years old by applying for your learner's permit.
If you don't have access to a professional driving school/driver's training program in your area, you may consider enrolling in a Driver's Ed course online. Online driver's education courses allow you to complete the program at your own pace at the most convenient location for you.
If you decide to enroll in a Driver's Ed course, you'll be able to apply some of the safe driving skills the course will cover when you begin your driving practice. You'll also gain knowledge about important topics, including:
- West Virginia traffic laws and violations.
- Reacting properly in hazardous situations.
- Defensive driving techniques.
- Sharing the road with other motorists.
- Developing good driving attitudes and behaviors.
- Your responsibilities on the road.
Before applying for your learner's permit and taking the DMV written permit test, you should study the West Virginia Driver's Handbook.
To learn how to obtain your learner's permit, please visit our Drivers Permits in West Virginia page.
Your learner's permit will allow you to gain experience behind the wheel, as long as you:
- Are accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old.
- Drive between 5 a.m. and 10 p.m.
- Do not use your cell phone.
Getting Your WV Intermediate Driver's License
Practicing with your learner's permit will help prepare you for your West Virginia DMV driving test and move on to the next step of the GDL program.
Before you can take your road test and obtain your intermediate driver's license, you'll need to:
- Hold your learner's permit for at least 6 months.
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Have committed no traffic violations for the 6 months prior to your application.
- Complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving (including 10 hours at night) and submit a 50-Hour Certificate Log for Driver's License Applicants Under Age 18 (Form DMV-10-GDL), OR complete a Driver's Ed course.
For more information, please see our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in West Virginia page.
NOTE: If you are having trouble passing the DMV written test or driving skills test, a Driver's Ed course may be just what you need
50-Hour Certification Log for Drivers License Applicants Under Age 18 - DMV-10-GDL
West Virginia driver's license applicants under 18 years old use this form to log the amount of practice driving hours completed.