Suspended License in Wisconsin
Searching the Wisconsin DOT for matching Driving Records
Instant Driving Record - Exclusively Online!
Instant Motor Vehicle Report Includes:
- Driving Status
- License Classification
NOTICE: This is standard non-certified driving record. For a certified record, you must contact DOT
Get your personal driver's license history instantly and online. Find out what information is on your driving record with a BackgroundChecks.com Instant Motor Vehicle Report. Keep in mind, you can only run an instant motor vehicle report on yourself.
Driver License Suspension in Wisconsin
There are a number of ways to lose the privilege to drive in Wisconsin, and a number of ways to regain your privileges. In some cases, if you have been convicted of an infraction that requires a temporary loss of driving privileges, you may apply for a limited license to drive to and from home and work or to and from home and school.
Read more to learn about Wisconsin driver’s license suspensions, reinstatements, restricted licenses, and fees.
There are a number of reasons that your WI driver’s license can be suspended or revoked, including the following:
- DUI incidents.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Refusing to test for blood alcohol concentration when asked.
- Failing to notify the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) of an accident in which you were involved.
- Failure to settle a financial judgment for damages with another party if the damages were related to a motor vehicle accident.
- Giving false information to the DMV or using someone else's driver's license.
- Allowing another person to use your driver's license.
Driving Record Points
An excess of points on your driving record can lead to the suspension of your Wisconsin driver’s license.
You gain points on your driving record for each conviction you get for a moving violation.
If you accumulate 12 points or more within 12 months, you will receive a minimum license suspension of 2 months.
Most convictions stay on your record 5 years from the date of the conviction; however, serious offenses (including those involving alcohol-related convictions) stay on your record for 55 years.
For more information, read our Wisconsin DMV Points page.
Check Your Driver's License Status
Concerned about your license status? Check your WI driving record. This record will tell you if your driver’s license is currently valid.
You’ll also find any points against your license and information on any accidents you have had. Your driving record can impact your car insurance rates, so checking what’s on your record and making sure it’s correct is essential.
In Wisconsin, conviction of DUI (or OWI) will result in a revoked driver’s license. A revocation of your license is an indefinite loss of your license that may require you to apply for your WI driver’s license again.
If you are pulled over by a police officer for suspicion of OWI, Wisconsin law considers that you have given implied consent to test for blood alcohol concentration.
The DMV will issue an administrative suspension on your driver’s license, regardless of a court conviction of OWI if you:
- Violate implied consent laws by refusing to submit to alcohol testing.
- Test over the legal limit for blood alcohol concentration (BAC).
If you are given an administrative suspension, you have the right to a hearing to contest your suspension.
Information on how to request your hearing will be included in your suspension notice.
To reinstate your suspended license, you must meet requirements issued to you by the DMV and/or the court.
If you are unsure about your reinstatement requirements, the Wisconsin DMV offers an online avenue for you to check your eligibility and requirements for reinstatement.
Once eligible, you can reinstate your license at your local DMV office. Make sure to arrive at least 90 minutes before the DMV office closes.
If your license has not expired and it’s still in your possession, you may be eligible to reinstate your license:
- By mail to:
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
Driver Information Section
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Room 301
P.O. Box 7983
Madison, WI 53707-7983
- Be sure to include your:
- Date of birth.
- Driver’s license number.
- Social security number.
- Your current address.
- Check or money order made out to “Registration Fee Trust” for your reinstatement fee payment. (See “Fees for Suspended WI Driver’s Licenses” below.)
- Be sure to include your:
- You’ll need your:
- Driver’s license number or WI driver ID number.
- Social Security number.
- Birth date.
- You’ll need your:
NOTE: You may be required to provide proof of SR22 insurance if this was part of your reinstatement requirements. Learn more about SR22 insurance on our WI Car Insurance page.
If your driver's license is still in your possession and you reinstate your license by mail or online, you may call (608) 264-7133 to check the status of your reinstatement.
If your driver's license has been suspended or revoked, you may be eligible for a restricted license in the form of an occupational license.
An occupational license allows you to drive for specific reasons. The most common use of an occupational license is for driving to and from work.
You can check your eligibility status online to see if you have become eligible for application.
To apply for an occupational driver’s license, you must:
- Complete an Occupational Operator License Application (form MV3027) and submit it to your local DMV office.
- You’ll need a sponsor signature if you are under 18 years old.
- Provide proof of identity and U.S. citizenship.
- Provide your SR22 proof of insurance.
- Bring one of the following methods of payment:
- Major debit card.
- Credit card (American Express, MasterCard, or Discover).
NOTE: You may get your photo occupational license the same day you apply; however, in some cases you may need to return the next time the office is open to retrieve it.
When you reinstate your suspended Wisconsin drivers license, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee.
Reinstatement fees in Wisconsin are as follows:
- $60 fee for most reinstatements.
- $200 fee for reinstatements involving OWI-related offenses.
Accepted Payment Methods
The accepted payment methods vary based on which method of reinstatement you use:
- Online: Major debit or credit card.
- Expect to pay a small convenience fee.
- In person: Cash, check, or major credit/debit card.
- By mail: Check or money order payable to “Registration Fee Trust.”
- (See “Reinstate Your WI Driver’s License” above.)
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.