Salesperson License in Wisconsin
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
- You must be at least 18 years old.
- You cannot have any past convictions directly related to the sale of motor vehicles.
- By law, you are not required to possess a driver's license. However, your employer has the right to make a driver's license a job requirement.
How to Apply for a License
- Complete the sales person Salesperson/Representative License Application (Form MV2184). Be sure your employer completes the bottom half.
- Take the completed application to any Wisconsin Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) service center along with cash or check to pay the application fee which generally falls below $20.
- While there, pass the written test. Test cost: $5.
Salesperson License Exam
- The test, consisting of 50 questions, assesses your grip on Wisconsin laws pertaining to record-keeping, vehicle disclosure, purchase contracts, advertising, and titling and registering. You need to answer at least 40 correctly to pass.
- The Department of Transportation's (WisDOT) Motor Vehicle Salesperson Manual serves as your best tutor. All exam questions are culled from this manual.
- The test takes approximately 45 minutes.
- If you fail you must wait at least 1 day before trying again.
Transferring an Existing Salesperson License
To transfer you need to complete the sales person Salesperson/Representative License Application (Form MV2184). Be sure to have your employer complete the bottom half. Mail the completed application along with all required fees to:
- Department of Transportation
- Dealer and Agent Section
- 4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Room 201
- P.O. Box 7909
- Madison, WI 53707