Traffic Tickets in Vermont
Stay Informed on Ticket History
Stay up to date on the traffic ticket history of anyone in the U.S.—search public court records for a low fee. Unlimited searches for 30 days—only $23.
"TruthFinder is a very accurate, updated system. Their information is proper and can be very helpful too." - Zak K.
Disclaimer: TruthFinder cannot be used for employment or tenant screening. TruthFinder is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Report Act. Please note that this is a subscription-based service.
Continue reading this page to learn more about responding to a Vermont traffic ticket.
NOTE: Be sure to pay or respond to your ticket within 20 days to avoid additional fines and penalties.
Vermont Traffic Ticket Fines & Penalties
VT traffic ticket fines (also called “waiver penalties") and surcharges vary by violation. Your traffic ticket should show the total amount payable.
If you do not have your traffic ticket, please contact the Vermont Traffic Bureau at (802) 295-8869.
NOTE: If you fail to respond in time, you will be charged a $20 late fee, and points will be added to your Vermont driving record.
Driving Record Points
If the Vermont Judicial Bureau finds you guilty of a traffic violation, you'll receive points on your driving record. If you accumulate 10 points or more within 2 years, your VT driver's license will be suspended.
See our DMV Point System page for more information.
Mandatory Traffic School
Depending on your violation, the Vermont court may require you to complete a defensive driving course to satisfy your traffic ticket. Check your traffic ticket or contact the court handling your case for more information.
Unfortunately, the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) does NOT offer defensive driving courses for point reduction or ticket dismissal.
Pay a Traffic Ticket in Vermont
In Vermont, you can pay your traffic ticket fine:
- By mail.
For complete instructions, check your traffic ticket or visit the Vermont Judicial Bureau website.
NOTE: Be sure to pay your ticket within 20 days as you could face additional fees and a driver’s license suspension.
Fight an VT Traffic Ticket
If you wish to fight your traffic ticket, you will need to schedule a court hearing and plead "not guilty" in person. Refer to your traffic ticket or contact the VT Judicial Bureau directly for complete instructions.
NOTE: Failure to appear in court will result in an automatic “guilty" plea. If you do not pay your fines by the due date, the Vermont DMV will suspend your driver’s license.
Lost Your Traffic Ticket?
If you've lost your VT traffic ticket, contact the VT Judicial Bureau or the police department in the city where you received your ticket.
Be prepared to provide some personal information so they can locate your information, such as your:
- Vermont driver's license number.
- License plate number.
- Date of birth.
Fines & Penalties for Commercial Drivers
If you have a Vermont commercial driver's license (CDL), you must notify your employer within 30 days of being convicted of a traffic violation.
NOTE: Major offenses can result in a CDL suspension for 1 year, including:
- Committing a felony using a commercial motor vehicle (CMV).
- Operating a CMV with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04% or higher.
- Driving with a suspended, revoked or cancelled commercial driver license (CDL).
- Driving a CDL in the commission of a felony. Making, distributing or dispensing a controlled substance falls under this definition.
- Leaving the location of an accident.
- The negligent use of a CMV which results in a fatality.
- Refusing to obey implied consent laws.
Read our CDL Suspensions in Vermont page for more information.
Vermont Traffic Tickets: FAQs
Visit our Traffic Ticket FAQ page for more information about the following topics: