Traffic Ticket FAQ in Vermont
Getting a traffic ticket is frustrating, but it doesn’t need to be confusing. This page should answer the questions you may have if you get a traffic ticket in Vermont, and hopefully put your mind at ease.
What do I do if I get a traffic ticket in Vermont?
You must first decide if you will plead:
- Admitted (guilty).
- No contest.
- Denied (not guilty).
Admitting to the violation or pleading no contest means you agree to pay all fines and accept any penalties associated with a conviction.
Denying the charge means you’ll get a hearing date and will get a chance to argue your case in court.
You have 20 days after receiving the traffic ticket to enter your plea and pay the fine (if applicable).
Who handles traffic citations in Vermont?
How do I enter my plea?
Even though getting a traffic ticket is a drag, Vermont provides several different ways for you to enter your admitted or no contest pleas, including:
- By mail.
- In person.
When you submit your answer to the VT Judicial Bureau, you can send payment at the same time if you decide to plead admitted or no contest. Otherwise, just wait to get a letter back from the court on payment deadlines or a hearing date (if you decide to deny the charges).
To enter your admitted or no contest plea online, use Vermont’s web portal to make the payment for your traffic violation. If you are entering a denied (not guilty) plea, you are not able to use the online option.
If you want to fight your traffic violation, you cannot do so by mail. However, if you are admitting fault or pleading no contest, you can mail your plea. You will send in your citation and fee to:
Vermont Judicial Bureau
P.O. Box 607
White River Junction, VT 05001
You are able to hand deliver you ticket and payment for your traffic violation, if you plead admitted or no contest. Take them to:
Vermont Judicial Bureau
82 Railroad Row
White River Junction, VT 05001
How can I get a VT traffic ticket dismissed?
There is no formal process for getting a traffic ticket dismissed in Vermont. You can't take a defensive driving course to erase a ticket or the driving record points that go with it.
Instead, if you want to dispute the charges, you can fight your traffic ticket and plead your case to a judge. Depending on your unique situation, it might be worth consulting a traffic ticket attorney.
How many points will I get if convicted?
Points differ by offense, yet they are consistent throughout the state. Convictions range between 2 points and 10 points per violation.
A minor offense, such as speeding less than 10 MPH over the local speed limit will add 2 points on your driving record, while speeding more than 30 MPH over the limit will earn you 8 points.
Violations that result in an accident will result in 2 points extra being added to your driving record.
Check out our page on Vermont traffic ticket fines and penalties for a list of traffic violations and the number of points assigned to each.
How many driving record points can I accumulate before the state suspends my VT driver's license?
Once you accumulate a minimum of 10 points within a period of 2 years, the Vermont DMV will send you a letter, notifying you of your license suspension. The state DOES NOT have any programs in place to help you reduce the number of points on your driving record.
What if I have a VT CDL and get a traffic ticket?
The procedures for handling traffic tickets are the same for VT commercial drivers as they are for those with a regular license: You must decide to pay the fines or fight the traffic ticket and notify the Judicial Bureau within 20 days.
If convicted, you must also notify your employer within 30 days of your conviction, even if you were pulled over in your personal vehicle.
What if I am younger than 18 and get a traffic ticket in Vermont?
There are a few different steps if you are younger than 18 years old and you get a traffic ticket in Vermont.
First, decide how you want to plead (admitted, no contest, or denied). Then, notify the Judicial Bureau within 20 days of getting the traffic ticket. Check the back of the white copy of the citation for specifics.
If you are convicted, you'll see an increase in the points on your driving record.
- Delay you from upgrading your license. You must keep a clean driving record for 6 months before you can upgrade your learner permit to a junior driver license.
- Result in a suspension or recall of your license or permit.
For example, if you get a speeding ticket that results in 3 points or more added to your driving record, your Junior Driver License or learner’s permit will be recalled for 90 days.
Visit our page on traffic ticket fines and penalties for more info.
Will taking a motorcycle safety course help me with a VT traffic ticket I got while riding?
Course completion won't knock off any points on your driving record, nor will it help get a traffic ticket dismissed. The state offers no such program for reducing the penalties of a traffic violation. However, touching up on your riding skills with a Vermont Rider Education Program (VREP) could prevent a future ticket and also get you a discount on your motorcycle insurance rate.
Can I take a defensive driving course to reduce the number of VT driver's license points on my driving record?
No. Vermont doesn't offer this option to drivers. In fact, the ONLY way to see a reduction in points is to wait until they fall off after 2 years. However, taking a traffic school course is a great way to refresh your driver safety skills.
Why is it a good idea to order a driving record?
It is a good idea because points on your driving record affect your driving privileges and your auto insurance rates, consider checking your driving record after getting a traffic ticket. This way you’ll be sure the state's record accurately reflects the number of points associated with your VT driver's license.
Jump over to our page on Vermont driving records for more information.
What is the cost of my Vermont traffic ticket?
Traffic ticket fines vary by offense. Please visit our page on Vermont traffic ticket fines and penalties for a breakdown of fees if the amount is not listed on your traffic citation.
If you've misplaced your traffic ticket, visit our page on tracking down lost traffic tickets.
How can I find a lost traffic ticket online?
Vermont doesn't offer a statewide online ticket search option, so your best bet is to contact the police department in the city you were ticketed. Check out our page on tracking down a lost traffic ticket for full details. Also keep in mind that regardless of whether you lost your traffic citation, you must notify the VT Judicial Bureau on how you wish to plead.
When is it a good idea to hire a Vermont traffic ticket attorney?
If you decide to fight your Vermont traffic ticket, consider consulting a traffic ticket lawyer. A traffic ticket attorney is a great resource for helping you navigate the court system, especially when a conviction results in more serious consequences.