Suspended License in Virginia
Searching the Virginia DMV for matching Driving Records
Instant Driving Record - Exclusively Online!
Instant Motor Vehicle Report Includes:
- Driving Status
- License Classification
NOTICE: This is standard non-certified driving record. For a certified record, you must contact DMV
Get your personal driver's license history instantly and online. Find out what information is on your driving record with a BackgroundChecks.com Instant Motor Vehicle Report. Keep in mind, you can only run an instant motor vehicle report on yourself.
Driver License Suspension in Virginia
If your Virginia driver's license is suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), you'll need to satisfy your suspension requirements before you can reinstate your license.
Your driver's license may be suspended or revoked for reasons including:
- A DUI/DWI or driving under the influence of drugs.
- Falsifying information to the Virginia DMV.
- Felonies involving a vehicle.
- Violating insurance laws.
- Failing to pay child support or court fines.
- Accumulating too many driving record points.
On this page you'll find information about your license suspension, how to reinstate your driving privileges, and how to obtain a restricted license.
Depending on your offense, the Virginia DMV and the courts may either suspend or revoke your driver's license.
The VA DMV will notify you when your driving privileges have been suspended.
Some traffic violations and crimes will result in an immediate suspension or revocation of your Virginia driver's license. These include:
- Driving under the influence (DUI).
- Failing to stop at an accident you're involved in.
- Failing to complete a required driver improvement program.
- Reckless driving.
The duration of your suspension and reinstatement requirements will vary depending on your offense.
NOTE: Some violations may require you to enroll in a driver improvement program.
For specific details about your driver license suspension, including the duration, complete a Compliance Summary Request on the Virginia DMV website. You'll need to enter your:
- Driver's license number or Social Security number.
- Date of birth.
Your driver's license can also be suspended for accumulating too many driving record points.
If you are under 18 years old, your license will be suspended:
- If you don't complete a required driver improvement clinic within 90 days after receiving a demerit point. Your license will be reinstated once you've completed the clinic.
- For 90 days after receiving your 2nd point.
- For 1 year or until you turn 18 years old, whichever is longer, after receiving your 3rd point.
If you are 18 years old or older:
- You will receive a warning letter if you earn:
- 8 points in 12 months.
- 12 points in 24 months.
- Your license will be suspended for 90 days if you accumulate:
- 18 points in 12 months.
- 24 points in 24 months.
Check Your Driver License Status
The number of years your traffic violations, convictions, suspensions, and revocations will remain on your Virginia driving record depends on the offense.
Most offenses that result in the suspension or revocation of your driver's license will remain on your driving record for at least 11 years. Traffic violations and convictions committed in a commercial vehicle will stay on your driving record permanently.
You can order your driving record to check the status of your drivers license and review your demerit points.
Find a cheaper car insurance quote if your rates have gone up with your suspension.
If your Virginia driver's license was suspended for violating an insurance law, you can request an administrative hearing by completing the Virginia DMV’s online form. You'll need to enter:
- Your full name.
- Your driver's license number.
- Your mailing address.
- Information about your suspension.
If you want to appeal your license suspension, you should contact the Virginia DMV or the court that handed down your suspension.
The details of your driver's license suspension will vary depending on your offense. To view specific details, complete the online Compliance Summary Request on the Virginia DMV website. You'll need to log into the system using your:
- Driver license number or Social Security number (SSN).
- Date of birth.
To reinstate your Virginia suspended drivers license you may need to provide:
- Proof of payment for your court fines, if applicable.
- An SR22 certificate of insurance from your insurance company.
- Proof you have completed a driving improvement clinic.
- Proof you have completed an Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP).
- Payment for your licensing fee, if applicable.
- Payment for your reinstatement fee. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your VA License" below.)
You may be able to pay your fees:
- By mailing your payment to:
- By calling:
- (804) 497-7100.
- (800) 272-9268 for TTY.
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 27412
Richmond, VA 23269
You may also need to visit your local Virginia DMV office and:
- Provide identification, your address, and legal presence documents.
- Pass a knowledge and driving skills test.
NOTE: Once you've satisfied your reinstatement requirements and paid your fees, the VA DMV will give you a clearance letter that confirms your driver license has been reinstated.
DUI Suspensions and Revocations
Virginia DUI penalties vary by the number of DUI convictions you have.
For DUI offenses/breath test refusals, the Virginia DMV can suspend your license under the Administrative License Suspension (ALS) for 7–60 days depending on how many offenses you've had. If you have a court trial, your license may be reinstated earlier.
You may also face additional fines, suspensions, and penalties from the court.
For more information about DUI/DWI in Virginia, visit our DUI & DWI in Virginia page.
Before you can reinstate your driver's license, you'll need to satisfy all of the requirements of your court revocation, including:
- Completing an Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP).
- Installing an ignition interlock device on your primary vehicle, or every vehicle you own if you have multiple DUI convictions.
For more information about DUI convictions in Virginia, please refer to the Virginia DMV DUI information document.
If you have been declared as a habitual offender and you drive while your driver's license is revoked, you may:
- Be sentenced to 90 days in jail or up to 5 years in prison.
- Be fined up to $2,500.
You may have been declared as a habitual offender, if prior to 7/1/99 you received at least:
- 3 major convictions.
- 12 minor convictions within 10 years.
To reinstate your driver's license in Virginia, you'll need to:
- Satisfy all of your revocation requirements.
- Petition the court for a hearing to reinstate your driving privileges.
For more information about reinstating your revoked VA driver's license if you're a habitual offender, visit the VA DMV website.
You may be able to request a restricted driver license to use while your drivers license is suspended.
If your license was suspended by the Virginia DMV for violating the requirements of your driver improvement program, you may be eligible for a restricted license if:
- It was your first probation violation.
- It was your second probation violation and there was an 18-month control period before your probation.
If eligible, you can use a restricted license to drive to and from authorized locations, such as:
- Health care centers.
- Your child's school or daycare.
You'll need to:
- Petition the court, if you had a court-ordered suspension for convictions including:
- Reckless and aggressive driving.
- Drug convictions.
- Provide documents that justify your need for a restricted driver's license, including:
- Court orders.
- A letter from your school or employer.
- A letter from your doctor.
If the court approves your restricted license request, you may need to visit your local VA DMV with:
- Any required documents.
- Your court documents.
- Your reinstatement fees.
Contact or visit your local Virginia DMV office for information on obtaining a restricted license.
Virginia driver license reinstatement fees vary depending on the offense.
- $145 for offenses including:
- Failing to pay court fines.
- Insurance violations.
- Railroad crossing violations.
- $175 for offenses including:
- Failing to complete a driver improvement program.
- Driving with a suspended/revoked license.
- Felonies involving a vehicle.
- $220 for offenses including:
- A DUI or driving under the influence of drugs.
- Vehicular manslaughter.
- Commercial vehicle convictions involving alcohol.
For a complete list of reinstatement fees for different offenses, please refer to the Virginia DMV website.
If you have multiple suspension/revocation orders on your Virginia driver's license, you will be charged an extra $5 for each order.
NOTE: Your reinstatement and suspension fees may vary depending on your specific circumstance. For details about your suspension, order your driving record or a compliance summary on the Virginia DMV website.
Accepted Forms of Payment
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles accepts the following forms of payment to reinstate your suspended license:
- Online: E-check or credit card.
- By mail: Check or money order.
- By phone: Credit card.
- In person: Cash, check, money order, or credit card.
Your commercial driver's license (CDL) can be disqualified/suspended if you violate traffic laws or are convicted of crimes while operating a commercial vehicle.
NOTE: Your CDL can also be suspended for violations and convictions committed in a non-commercial vehicle. Not every CDL disqualification will result in a suspension.
CDL disqualification laws are regulated by both state and federal law.
Your CDL can be disqualified for violations and convictions such as:
- Excessive speeding or reckless driving.
- DUI or driving under the influence of drugs.
- Railroad crossing violations.
- Continuing to operate on an out-of-service order.
To reinstate your CDL, please see “Reinstate Your Suspended Driver's License" above.
For more information about CDL suspensions, visit our page for commercial drivers.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.