Apply for a License (Under 18) in Utah
COVID-19 Effects on Licensing Services
In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, state DMVs nationwide have closed driver licensing offices, extended license and registration expiration dates, and/or limited the transactions they are processing. If possible, residents should use the DLD's online services to complete any relevant transactions. Follow the DLD's most recent updates for the latest information.
Applying for a Teen Driver's License in Utah
The Utah Department of Public Safety (DPS) Driver License Division has a graduated driver licensing (GDL) program in place for new drivers to obtain a Utah driver's license.
Teen drivers younger than 21 years old must follow rules and meet specific requirements in Utah, which may include driver's education.
This page outlines the steps you need to take to obtain your first Utah driver's license.
Utah REAL ID Driver's License
The UT DPS began issuing federally-compliant REAL ID driver’s licenses in 2010. As of October 1, 2021, only the REAL ID will function as federal identification for domestic travel and entry into federal and military buildings.
For more detail on Utah REAL IDs, visit the DPS' guide and FAQs.
New to Utah?
If you have recently moved to Utah, there is no grace period for you to apply for a UT driver's license. If you establish residency, you must switch your license over to Utah right away.
To obtain your UT driver's license, visit your local DMV office and:
- Submit a completed Driver's License Application (Form DLD6a).
- Present your valid out-of-state driver's license or proof you have completed driver's education, if you have it.
- If you cannot provide either of these, you will be issued a learner's permit, which you must hold for 90 days.
- Show proof of your identity, Social Security number, and 2 documents proving your Utah residency.
- For acceptable documents, please visit the DLD website.
- Pass the written and vision tests.
- Pass a road test, if required.
- Get your photo taken.
- Pay the nonrefundable fee: $52 if 21 years old or over or $39 if 20 years old and under.
Utah GDL Program
In Utah, if you're younger than 19 years old, you must follow the guidelines required by the GDL program. This process is designed to help you learn all of the defensive driving skills you need to drive safely and avoid traffic accidents.
You will be required to:
- Obtain your UT learner's permit.
- Complete a driver's education course, if you're younger than 19 years old.
- Complete 40 hours of driving practice (10 hours at night).
- Apply for your full, unrestricted driver's license.
- Learner's permit: 15 years old.
- Driver's Ed enrollment: Once you have your learner's permit.
- Full driver's license:
- If you are under 18 years old: After holding a UT learner's permit for 6 months, or upon turning 18 years old.
- If you're exactly 18 years old: After completing a driver's education course.
- If you're 19 years old or older: After holding a Utah learner's permit for 90 days, AND practiced driving for a minimum of 40 hours (10 hours at night) OR upon completion of Driver's Ed.
- If you previously held an out-of-state permit, contact the Utah DLD as requirements may vary.
Utah Learner's Permit
You must be at least 15 years old to apply for your Utah learner's permit.
To apply, visit a local UT driver license office and:
- Complete the Learner's Permit Application (Form DLD6a).
- Your parent or guardian must sign this form for financial responsibility.
- Show proof of birth, Social Security number, and residence.
- Visit the DPS website for a list of acceptable documents.
- Pass the written test (25 questions) and vision test.
- Complete a medical questionnaire.
- Get your photo taken.
- Pay the $19 learner's permit fee (non-refundable).
Behind-the-Wheel Driving Requirements
Before moving on to your full, unrestricted driver's license, you must:
- Practice driving for 40 hours (10 hours must be at night).
- Successfully complete Driver's Ed, if you're younger than 19 years old.
You must also hold your learner's permit for a minimum period of time before applying for your driver's license.
- Younger than 18 years old: 6 months, or until you turn 18 years old (whichever comes first).
- 18 years old: 90 days.
- 19 years old or older: 90 days or upon completion of a driver's education course.
- If you've previously held an out-of-state permit, contact Utah's DLD as requirements may vary.
Full Unrestricted UT Driver License
You can apply for your full, unrestricted driver's license once you've:
- Turned 16 years old.
- Completed 40 hours of behind-the-wheel practice, including 10 hours at night).
- Held your learner's permit for:
- 6 months (or until you turn 18 years old), if you are younger than 18 years old.
- 90 days, if are 19 years old or older.
- This will be waived if you are 19 years old or older and successfully complete a driver's education course in Utah.
- Passed the Traffic Safety and Trends Exam, available online at the DPS website.
- You must receive a 100% to pass this exam.
- You can retake the test as many times as you need to pass.
To apply for your Utah driver's license, visit your local driver's license office and:
- Show proof of completion of your driver's education program, if applicable.
- Complete the Driver License Application (Form DLD6a).
- Submit your Utah learner's permit.
- Provide your birth certificate, Social Security number, and proof of your UT residency.
- Please visit the UT DPS website for a list of acceptable documents.
- Have your parent or legal guardian sign your application and certify that you have completed the required driving practice time.
- Have your photo taken.
- Pass the vision test and complete a medical questionnaire.
- Pass the road test. (Can be taken through your Driver's Ed class.)
- Pay the $39 driver license fee (non-refundable).
The Utah DPS will issue you a temporary driver's license in person. Your hard copy will be mailed within 6 weeks.
Follow the new license checklist to keep track of the major steps towards your first Utah driver's license.
Driver License Restrictions
If you're under 17 years old, you may not operate a vehicle between midnight and 5 a.m. except when:
- Accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old,
- Driving for reasons related to employment, school-sponsored activities, farming/agriculture, or an emergency.
You may not drive with any passengers outside of your immediate family until 6 months after your license was issued, unless you:
- Turn 18 years old.
- Are accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old.
- Are in an emergency.
- Are engaged in agricultural operation.