Renewing Your CDL in Utah
Pass Your CDL Written Exam with DMV Cheatsheets!
Get answers, save time and pass your CDL exam test the first time around. DMV Cheat Sheets advantages:
- Use Your Computer, Tablet or Mobile Phone
- Study When and Where You Want
- 24/7 Online Access
- Simply print and pass or your money back guaranteed
Get Your Test Answers Now!
If you currently hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL) in Utah, the Utah Department of Public Safety (DPS) Driver License Division (DLD) requires you to go through a specific process to renew.
Make sure that you have everything you need before heading to the driver license office.
UT CDL Renewal Eligibility
Luckily, Utah gives you a big window to renew your CDL: you can renew as early as 6 months before it is about to expire. Once renewed, your CDL will be valid for 5 years.
If you know that you are not going to be in Utah during the time that you are eligible to renew, then you can give the DPS your information and required documents ahead of time. For more information on this, you can contact the DPS Driver License Division at (801) 965-4437.
If you are active duty military, your CDL will expire 90 days after the date that you are discharged. Please bring any necessary discharge documents with you to the driver license office when you go to renew.
Renewing Your Utah CDL
All CDL renewals must be done in person at a driver license office*. Before you head to a convenient office location, make sure to have your:
- Current CDL.
- DOT card.
- Completed Driver License Application (Form DLD6a).
- Payment for the applicable fees. Head down to our fee section for a breakdown of costs.
Once you get to a driver license office, you’ll have your picture taken.
HAZMAT Endorsement Requirements
If you have a HAZMAT endorsement on your CDL, Transportation Security Administration (TSA) will need to perform a background check, and you will need to take the written knowledge test, every time that you renew.
To avoid being disqualified for an expired background check, it’s strongly recommended that you get the background check done before heading to the driver license office to renew.
The HAZMAT federal background checks are valid for 5 years. For more information, see our page on HAZMAT endorsements.
*NOTE: Certain Utah office locations—including Farmington, Logan, Provo, and Tooele—CANNOT currently process CDLs.
Utah CDL Medical Requirements
Federal law requires that all CDL holders self-certify as to what type of commercial driving they will be doing. The Commercial Driver License Medical Self Certification (Form CDL 42) must be completed:
- Every 2 years.
- If the type of commercial driving you are doing has changed.
If your information is up to date, just bring your DOT card for proof. See our page on Applying for a Utah CDL for more information on medical requirements.
CDL Renewal Fees in UT
Here is what you can expect when it comes to Utah commercial driver license renewal fees:
- CDL renewal: $52.
- Endorsement renewal: $9 per endorsement.
- Motorcycle endorsement renewal: Additional $11.