Other Vehicle Registrations in Utah
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
In Utah, if you may be required to register and title your special vehicle, including snowmobiles, all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), trailers, and other types of off-highway vehicles (OHVs). As a general rule, if you're planning on operating your OHV on any public land or road in Utah, it MUST be registered.
The steps you need to take vary depending on the kind of vehicle you have. Either way, you'll need to visit your local Utah Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office to start the process.
You may also wish to view some of our other pages on registering and titling vehicles:
Off-Road Vehicles, Snowmobiles, and ATVs
Both snowmobiles and ATVs are classified by Utah state law as "off-highway vehicles" (OHVs). All OHVs used on the state's public lands or roads must be registered and titled if you're a Utah resident.
To title and register your OHV, just follow the procedures outlined for cars or motorcycles. Your registration will cost $22 (which goes towards programs related to OHV sports). You will also be responsible for paying a uniform fee based on the age of your OHV. After the initial registration you will renew your registration annually. The registration fees and uniform fees are also required when you renew your registration. For more information, visit the Utah State Parks and Recreation website.
NOTE: If you're using your OHV for agricultural or farming purposes only (and not on public property or roads), you can apply for an "implement of husbandry" sticker instead of registration stickers.
Place your snowmobile registration decal on the left side of the hood, pan, or tunnel. For ATVs, place a sticker on the rear of the vehicle.
Other OHV Rules
Be aware that all OHV riders younger than 18 years old must wear a helmet.
Also, you may only ride your OHV on private land when you have the land owner's permission.
The Utah Department of Natural Resources offers more information on the subject of OHVs.
If you're from out of state and wish to ride your off-road vehicle while you're in Utah temporarily, you'll need to first obtain a non-resident permit. You can apply for a permit either in person, online, or by mail.
To apply in person, you'll need to visit a UT DMV office with:
- Proof of your out-of-state residency.
- Proof that the OHV is not owned by a Utah resident.
- Payment for the fee (varies depending on the age of your vehicle).
- Depending on which state you live in, the fee may be waived.
To apply for a non-resident permit online, fill out the form on the Utah State Parks and Recreation website.
To apply by mail, complete a Non-Resident Off Highway Vehicle User Permit Application and Affidavit and return it to the address on the form.
You can also email this form to email@example.com.
Trailers in Utah
Only trailers that weigh over 750 lbs. have to be titled and registered with the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). It's still a good idea to register any trailer, in case of theft or loss.
Simply go to your local UT DMV office with your title and vehicle identification number (VIN). If you need a new title, you'll also have to fill out the Vehicle Application for Utah Title (Form TC-656).
Trailer Registration Fees
Registration fees depend on how old your trailer is. A title costs $6.
Utah RVs and Motorhomes
If you have a recreational vehicle (RV) or motorhome, you'll need to have it registered and titled much the same way as a standard automobile. However, your registration fees vary in that in place of the uniform age-based fee, you will instead pay a fee-in-lieu of property tax of 1%.
If you have a custom built car in Utah, you'll need to both register AND title it before you can drive it legally in the state. Take the following to your local Utah DMV office:
- A completed Statement of Facts (Form TC-569D).
- Bills of sale for all components of your vehicle.
- If you don't have a bill of sale for certain major parts, you will need to complete an Ownership Statement (Form TC-569A) and you may need to post a bond.
- A completed Application for Utah Motor Vehicle Identification Number (Form TC-162).
- A completed Vehicle Application for Utah Title (Form TC-656).
- A photo of your car or the car itself.
- Safety inspection certificate.
- Emissions inspection certificate, if required.
- If your engine is from 1967 or earlier, you will not need to complete an emissions inspection. You will however, need to request a waiver from your local county emissions office if this inspection is usually required in your county.
- Payment for fees (registration, titling, and sales tax).
The Utah DMV will issue you a vehicle identification number (VIN) and you may need to have it inspected by a police officer or certified safety inspector.
For more information, visit the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles website.
Scooters and Mopeds
Most motor-driven cycles must be registered in Utah using the same process as registering a motorcycle. Motor-driven cycles are cycles or scooters that have engines less than 150 cc OR a motor of up to 5 hp.
Mopeds and electric bicycles may need to be registered depending on their size and speed. Contact the UT DMV at (800) 368-8824 (DMV-UTAH) for more information.
Vehicle Application for Utah Title - TC-656
Apply for an original, replacement, transferred, OR branded Utah title with this Division of Motor Vehicles form.
Application for Utah Motor Vehicle Identification Number - TC-162
Utah DMV application for a new vehicle identification number (VIN) on a car that's been reconstructed or that's missing its original VIN.
Ownership Statement - TC-569A
Form used to verify ownership of a vehicle if the Utah title is missing or has incorrect information.
Statement of Facts - TC-569D
Use this form to include supplemental information about your vehicle on DMV forms.