Lemon Law in Utah
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Utah Lemon Law
Utah has a lemon law to protect you in case the new car you buy or lease is so seriously flawed that it can't be repaired; in other words, if it's a lemon. It's very rare, but it happens.
Basically, the Utah lemon law allows vehicle manufacturers a number of attempts to repair your new vehicle's defect or malfunction before they'll need to either replace the vehicle or refund your purchase.
On this page you'll find an overview of the Utah lemon law, the criteria a car must meet to be classified as a lemon, and the steps you may need to take to remedy your issue.
Protections Under the Utah Lemon Law
The New Motor Vehicle Warranties Act applies to new cars and motor homes under warranty in Utah. Used vehicles are not protected under the Utah lemon law.
Under the law, the buyer is entitled to a refund or replacement if the vehicle meets all of the following criteria:
- The vehicle must have been bought in Utah.
- It must be new and under warranty.
- It must weigh under 12,000 lbs.
- The defect must "substantially impair the use, market value, or safety of the vehicle."
- The manufacturer must have tried to resolve the defect at least 4 times OR the buyer must have been unable to use the vehicle a total of 30 days, whichever comes first, during the first 12 months of the warranty.
- The defect must not be caused by owner neglect, abuse, or unauthorized vehicle modifications.
- The buyer must adhere to the manufacturer's informal dispute settlement or arbitration procedure, if there is one.
- Many manufacturers use the Better Business Bureau Auto Line as an informal dispute settlement service. Contact your vehicle's manufacturer or refer to your owner's manual for details.
NOTE: Be sure to keep records of any vehicle service orders, receipts, or correspondence you may have had with the vehicle manufacturer or the authorized dealer/service facility that has worked on your car.
Filing a Lemon Law Complaint in Utah
If all of the lemon law criteria above apply to you and you're the unlucky owner of a lemon, take the following steps:
- File a complaint with:
- Division of Consumer Protection
- 160 East 300 South, 2nd Floor
- P.O. Box 146704
- Salt Lake City, UT 84114
- Fax: (801) 530-6001
- Include copies of service records, arbitration or dispute settlement records, and any other relevant documents. The division stresses that you should send copies, not originals.
Once it's determined that your vehicle is a lemon and you're entitled to a refund or replacement, the manufacturer may charge you up to 23 cents per mile for your use of the vehicle or subtract that from the refund total. This amount is supposed to be "reasonable" and is prescribed by law.
NOTE: If you are not satisfied with your settlement or if you need legal advice, you should contact a lawyer.
Hiring a Utah Lemon Law Attorney
Before you decide on a specific lemon law attorney in Utah, do your research. You'll likely get better results by hiring an attorney with:
- Familiarity with lemon laws and consumer rights in Utah.
- A good reputation.
- Strong negotiating skills.
- A successful track record in lemon law cases.
To find the right lemon law attorney for your case, try to speak with as many lawyers as possible.
Benefits of Lemon Law Attorneys
An attorney can offer their skills to help improve your chances of getting a favorable outcome in court. Your Utah lemon law attorney will also be able to:
- Handle correspondence with the car dealer or manufacturer.
- Explain vital details of the lemon law in Utah.
- Complete all mandatory court paperwork for your lemon law case.