Personal Injury Attorneys in Texas
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
After an injury-causing car accident, you might think about hiring a personal injury attorney. If you do, it's important to ask some basic questions during your interview. It's also essential to know the statute of limitations and fault laws for your state when attempting to settle a personal injury case. Make sure you understand your case before you get involved in a lawsuit.
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
A personal injury attorney can be a huge asset when attempting to navigate a tricky personal injury case.
Having the help of a lawyer can significantly increase your changes of getting the appropriate compensation for your case.
Hiring a TX Personal Injury Attorney
Not all car accidents are the same, and you might not always need the help of a lawyer afterwards. However, you might consider hiring a personal injury attorney if:
- The car insurance company is offering a settlement far lower than what you seek.
- Your injuries are severe.
- You've experienced emotional trauma, pain and suffering, loss of companionship, or other non-economic losses.
Tips for Hiring a Personal Injury Attorney
If you decide to hire a personal injury lawyer, you should get all the information that you can upfront. You don't want to hire an attorney and then find out you didn't get what you wanted.
Before saying yes to a personal injury lawyer, ask at least the following questions:
- What is your track record?
- How many personal injury cases have you taken on?
- How many have you won?
- How long do you think it will take to resolve my case?
- What is the average time spent on cases like mine?
- How can I contact you during my case?
- Will I be able to contact you directly?
- What are your fees?
- Do you work on a contingency basis?
- If I have to go to court, will you be the lawyer trying my case?
Aside from having a firm understanding of your attorney's background, track record, and fees, it's important to understand certain factors that may affect your personal injury case, such as the state's statute of limitations and laws regarding fault.
Texas Statute of Limitations
In Texas, the statue of limitations for personal injury cases is 2 years from the date of your accident/injury.
Once you've passed this point, you will not be able to initiate a lawsuit.
Personal Injury Fault & Compensation in TX
A state's laws regarding fault can affect the damages you receive in a personal injury settlement. For example, states that have forms of comparative negligence laws reduce the amount of possible compensation by the percentage that the claimant is at fault.
Texas has modified comparative negligence laws, which means:
- The total compensation you can receive will be decreased by a percentage equal to the amount of fault you bear for the accident.
- HOWEVER, if you are more than 50% at fault, you won't be entitled to ANY compensation.
Your personal injury lawyer will help you understand fault, and make sure you get any compensation due to you.
Understanding Your Personal Injury Case
Whenever you have a personal injury accident, it's important to comprehend all the factors that affect your case. Attempting to settle a case without fully understanding the law or your rights can negatively affect the outcome of your case.
If you've hired a personal injury attorney, they should be able to explain these factors to you and answer any questions you may have.