Employee Driving Records in Texas
As an employer, it's helpful to have some sort of background knowledge on the people you're thinking of hiring. In some cases, it's even required by federal law that you conduct driving record checks on your applicants.
To request driving record reports, you can either:
- Go directly through state services.
- Use a private record checking company.
Types of Texas Employee Driving Records
As an employer in Texas, you have options when it comes to ordering your applicant/employee driving records. Depending on how extensive you'd like the report to be, the fees will vary. Below are the different driving record checks that the state offers.
- Status record.
- Name, date of birth, license status (e.g. valid, expired, suspended), current address.
- 3-year driving history.
- Name, date of birth, license status (e.g. valid, expired, suspended), current address, traffic accidents and violations within the last 3 years.
- Certified 3-year driving history.
- Simply, a certified copy of the driving history of 3 years.
- Complete driving record.
- Name, date of birth, license status (e.g. valid, expired, suspended), current address, all traffic accidents and violations on record.
- Only available to the licensee.
- Abstract driving record.
- Certified abstract of complete driving record.
Ordering Driver Records Through the DPS
Should you choose to order TX driver history records through the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), you'll need to print and complete an Application for Copy of Driver Record (Form DR-1). On the form you'll be asked to include:
- Which type of driving record you're requesting (fees will vary).
- Your name and mailing address.
- Information about your business:
- Company name.
- Your occupational title.
- What your business does (e.g. towing company, school, grocery delivery, etc.).
- Information about your applicant.
- Driver's license number, date of birth, full name.
- Your applicant's signature, verifying that they have granted you permission to access their driving record.
- Your qualifications for requesting the driver record.
- Most companies will select the tenth option, reading “For use by an employer or an authorized agent or insurer of the employer to obtain or verify information relating to a holder of a commercial driver license…"
Send the completed application and required payment to:
Texas Department of Public Safety
P.O. Box 149008
Austin, TX 78714
It should take about 3 weeks for your results to be processed and mailed back.
Fees for DPS Employee Driving Records
Depending on which type of Texas driver record you order, the fees will differ. Listed below are the fees associated with the various driving record requests:
- Status record: $4.
- Driving history—3 years: $6.
- Certified driving history—3 years: $10.
- Complete driving record: $7.
- Only available to the licensee.
- Certified version: $10.
- Abstract driving record: $20.
The fees are only payable by check or money order made out to the Texas Department of Public Safety.
If you have further questions, you can contact the DPS at (512) 424-2600.
Ordering Records Through a Third Party
Using a private company to request driving record checks is usually less expensive and less work for you, as compared to going directly through state services.
Most third party companies have already paid a majority of the processing fees. Additionally, with a single check they're usually able to obtain the driving records from every state in which your applicant has held a license.
When choosing a private company, make sure you know that their methods for obtaining records are up to federal standards. This means that they:
- Gather information from every state in which your applicant has ever held a license.
- Are notified with updates to your applicant's driving record.
You must keep a record of:
- Who requests the driving records at your company; and
- The dates that they did so.
Federal Compliance for CDL Employers
Federal guidelines require you to conduct driving record checks on all prospective applicants who are required to carry a commercial driver's license (CDL). You are also required to perform at least 1 check of your current Texas CDL employees every 12 months.
If your applicant has previously worked as a commercial driver, the information that you're required to have includes:
- Each state that your applicant has held a commercial driver's license in within the last 3 years.
- Driving safety reports done by their previous employers within the last 3 years.
- Copies of their driving record for each state in which they've held a CDL.
- Illegal drug and alcohol use within the last 3 years.
- Reports of failure to complete drug/alcohol rehabilitation programs.
- Proof that you've made every effort to obtain the necessary information.
If your applicant has never worked as a commercial driver (i.e. this is their first job with their Texas CDL), you are required to obtain:
- Identification information.
- Verification of their CDL privileges.
- Traffic accidents within the last 3 years.