Accident Guide in Texas
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Filing a Report
Texas law requires that a Crash Report (Form CR-2) known as a "Blue form" be filed when an accident occurs that results in injury or death, or when damage to property or vehicles is more than $1,000, if law enforcement does not come to the accident scene or complete a report. For more information on Crash Reports, visit the TX DOT webpage dedicated to Crash Reports.
After determining that everyone is safe after the accident, and administering first aid if needed, you'll need to gather some information. Exchange names, addresses, phone numbers, driver's license numbers, tag numbers, insurance information, and complete vehicle descriptions with all parties involved. If there were any witnesses, be sure to get their names and addresses, too.
You'll also want to write down the weather and road conditions at the time of the accident.
Crash Report - CR-2
Submit this form within 10 days to the TX DOT if you were involved in a motor vehicle crash not investigated by law enforcement which resulted in death, an injury, or property damage of $1,000 or more.