Suspended CDL

Choose Your State

Hawaii Alaska Florida New Hampshire Michigan Vermont Maine Rhode Island New York Pennsylvania New Jersey Delaware Maryland Virginia West Virginia Ohio Indiana Illinois Connecticut Wisconsin North Carolina Washington DC Massachusetts Tennessee Arkansas Missouri Georgia South Carolina Kentucky Alabama Louisiana Missouri Iowa Minnesota Oklahoma Texas New Mexico Kansas Nebraska South Dakota North Dakota Wyoming Montana Colorado Idaho Utah Arizona Nevada Oregon Washington California

Please enter your ZIP Code to access Suspended CDL specific to your state:

Suspended/Disqualified Commercial Driver’s License

Your CDL may be suspended/disqualified by your local Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), Secretary of State (SOS), Department of Revenue (DOR), or Motor Vehicle Division (MVD).

Along with state regulations, your commercial driving privileges are federally regulated with penalties set forth by the U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.

Your CDL can be disqualified for reasons including:

  • DUI/DWI convictions and refusing/failing a BAC test.
  • Drug-related offenses.
  • Violating an out-of-service order.
  • Hit and runs.
  • Using a vehicle to commit a felony.
  • Negligent homicide involving a vehicle.
  • Excessive speeding and reckless driving.
  • Following too closely and making erratic lane changes.
  • Driving without the proper endorsements.
  • Violating railroad crossings.

The duration of your disqualification will vary depending on your offense. Some offenses and violations may lead to a lifetime disqualification of your CDL.

NOTE: Your commercial driver’s license can be disqualified for offenses committed in a noncommercial vehicle, and your noncommercial driving privileges can be suspended for CDL violations.

Looking for a Commercial drivers license lawyer?

Find a commercial drivers license lawyer to help with your CDL DUI, suspended license or CDL disqualification.

Reinstate Your CDL in Your State

To reinstate your commercial drivers license, your state may require you to:

  • Wait-out the duration of your suspension/disqualification.
  • Satisfy any court requirements, if applicable.
  • Retake and pass the CDL driving skills and knowledge tests.
  • Pay a reinstatement fee.

Our suspended CDL pages will help you:

  • Learn about your disqualification/suspension.
  • Request an administrative hearing with your state’s motor vehicle agency, if applicable.
  • Reinstate your driving privileges.

Click your state below for information about your CDL disqualification duration and reinstatement requirements at your state’s DMV, SOS, DOR, or MVD.

DMV.ORG BBB Business Review