Traffic Tickets in South Dakota
Stay Informed on Ticket History
Stay up to date on the traffic ticket history of anyone in the U.S.—search public court records for a low fee. Unlimited searches for 30 days—only $23.
"TruthFinder is a very accurate, updated system. Their information is proper and can be very helpful too." - Zak K.
Disclaimer: TruthFinder cannot be used for employment or tenant screening. TruthFinder is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Report Act. Please note that this is a subscription-based service.
Continue reading this page to learn how to respond to your South Dakota traffic ticket.
Traffic Ticket Penalties and Fines
In South Dakota, traffic ticket fines vary depending on your violation. Your traffic ticket should show the full amount. If you do not see your fines on either your ticket or the South Dakota Fine and Bond Schedule, you'll likely need to appear in court.
SD Driving Record Points
The SD Department of Public Safety (DPS) will add points to your driving record after you are convicted of a traffic violation. Your South Dakota driver's license will be suspended if you accumulate:
- 15 points within 12 months.
- 22 points within 24 months.
See our DMV Point System page for more information.
NOTE: If you receive a traffic conviction while you have a restricted driver's permit, your driving privileges will be suspended for 30 days.
Pay a Traffic Ticket in South Dakota
Depending on the court handling your traffic ticket, you may be able to pay your fine:
- By mail.
- In person.
NOTE: Be sure to pay your traffic ticket by the due date to avoid additional fines and penalties.
Fight a SD Traffic Ticket
NOTE: Failing to respond to your traffic ticket or appear in court by the deadline can result in a “failure to appear" charge and a warrant for your arrest.
To fight your SD traffic ticket, you must appear in court to submit a “not guilty plea" and request a trial. You may want to consider hiring a SD traffic ticket attorney.
Lost Your Traffic Ticket?
You may need to provide some personal information, including your:
- Full name.
- Date of birth.
- South Dakota driver's license number.
- License plate number.
Fines & Penalties for Commercial Drivers
If you have a SD commercial driver's license (CDL), you must notify your employer within 30 days of a traffic conviction. Remember, traffic rules may be more strict for you as a commercial driver. In some cases, you could lose your CDL for 1 year, including if you are convicted of:
- Driving a commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.04%.
- Driving a commercial vehicle while under the effects of a controlled substance
- Operating a commercial vehicle with a suspended, cancelled or revoked CDL.
- Operating a CMV when you have been disqualified.
- Not remaining at the scene of an accident.
- Violating state implied consent laws.
- Using a CMV negligently and causing a fatality.
- The commission of a felony offense including making, distributing or dispensing a controlled substance, while operating a CMV.
You can read our CDL Suspensions in South Dakota page for more information.
South Dakota Traffic Tickets: FAQs
Go to our Traffic Ticket FAQ page for more information about the following topics: