Defensive Driving in South Dakota
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Defensive driving courses are designed to make you a safer, more responsible driver, and can be beneficial even if you are not eligible to earn a car insurance discount.
You'll be able to directly apply the lessons you'll learn in traffic school to your time on the road. With the knowledge you'll have gained from your course, you may be able to greatly reduce your risk of committing traffic violations and causing car accidents in the future.
On this page you'll find a general overview of South Dakota defensive driving, driving record points, and the appropriate agency to contact for more information.
SD Defensive Driving Course Options
While you typically cannot use a defensive driving course in South Dakota to deduct points from your driving record or dismiss a traffic ticket, you may be able to use a course to earn an insurance discount.
Depending on the circumstances of your traffic offense, you may be required by the court to complete a defensive driving course to satisfy your conviction.
For more information about safe driving and traffic school resources, please visit the South Dakota Department of Public Safety (DPS) website.
Depending on your reason for taking a defensive driving course, you may be able to choose between classroom and online traffic school.
For South Dakota defensive driving courses available to you:
- Contact the SD DPS.
- Talk to your court.
- Talk to your insurance company.
- Search online for traffic schools, driver improvement programs, or defensive driving courses.
Driving Record Points in South Dakota
When you violate traffic laws, the South Dakota Department of Public Safety (DPS) will add points to your driving record.
You risk receiving a SD driver's license suspension if you receive:
- 15 points in 12 months.
- 22 points in 24 months.
You can check your South Dakota driving record to see how many points are currently counting against your driver's license.
If you need more information about suspended driver's licenses and driving records, please visit our pages on:
If you find that you continue to commit the same traffic violations, completing a defensive driving course may be a smart option for you.
Earn a Traffic School Car Insurance Discount
You may be able to complete a defensive driving course to earn a safe driver discount on your car insurance premiums.
Many car insurance companies offer driver improvement/traffic school discounts to teens and older drivers in South Dakota, but drivers of all ages may be eligible.
Contact your car insurance provider for more information.
If you are not able to earn a discount for completing a defensive driving course, it may be a good time to start shopping around for a new car insurance policy.
South Dakota Traffic School Details
Defensive driving courses may cover topics, such as:
- South Dakota traffic laws.
- Alcohol/drug-related offenses.
- Defensive driving tips.
- Developing responsible driving behaviors.
- Sharing the road.
Your course may or may not include a final exam covering all the information taught. After successfully completing a course, you will typically receive a completion certificate.
For more information about your specific circumstances and your eligibility for defensive driving courses, please contact:
- Your localSouth Dakota Department of Public Safety
- Your car insurance company.
- Your court.