Replacing a Lost Registration in South Carolina

South Carolina law requires all drivers to keep a copy of their registration in their vehicle, and a validation decal on their license plate at all times.

If you’ve lost or damaged your registration or sticker, don’t worry—the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has a simple process for replacing your items. You may even be able to save yourself a trip to the DMV!

Need Title or License Plate Info?

If you need to replace a lost, stolen, or damaged vehicle title, see our page Replacing a Lost Title in South Carolina.

If your license plate has gone missing or is damaged, jump over to our guide to SC License Plates & Placards.

Obtain a Duplicate SC Registration

Lost your registration receipt? The SCDMV gives you the options to request your registration card either:

  • Online.
  • By mail.
    OR
  • In person.

Let’s go through each option below.

Out-of-State Registration Replacements

You can request a replacement registration certificate if you are out of state by:

  • Using the online system.
  • Submitting your application by mail.

Follow the instructions above for more information.

Make sure to note where the SC DMV should mail the registration certificate, as the DMV will otherwise send it to your address they have on file.

Replacing SC Stickers/Decals

If you’ve lost or damaged your South Carolina plate stickers, you’ll have to request new ones either:

  • In person at your local DMV office.
    OR
  • By mail.

You’ll need to:

  • Complete an Application to Replace License Plate or Expiration Year Decal (Form 452) and include your:
    • License plate number, with its expiration month and year.
      • Vehicle identification number (VIN).
  • Provide payment for the $6 replacement decal fee.
    • Include your payment in the form of a check or money order made out to “South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles.”

Bring the above items to your closest South Carolina DMV location, or mail them to:

SC Department of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 1498
Blythewood, SC 29016

Duplicate SC Registration Fees

Here are the fees associated with getting a duplicate registration card or plate decal:

  • Duplicate registration: $1.
    • Online fee may differ due to potential service charges. Contact your local SCDMV office for specific fee info.
  • Plate decal/sticker: $6.

Reporting a Lost or Stolen SC Registration

Don't be a victim of identity theft!

Consider filing a police report to protect yourself against identity fraud due to stolen documents.

To report the loss, theft, or damage to the SC DMV and request replacements, the DMV does not require you to file a police report.

However, if your registration certificate or license plates were stolen, you may want to file a police report to protect yourself from fraudulent use of your registration materials, including identity theft.

Related Products and Services

DMV.ORG BBB Business Review
11,242

Number of Organ Donors who registered through DMV.ORG

Advertisement