Identification Cards in Rhode Island
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Continue reading this page to learn how to apply for a non-driver ID card from the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Apply for a RI Identification Card
To apply for an ID card in Rhode Island, visit your local DMV office and:
- Complete an Application for License, Identification Card and Permits (Form LI-1).
- Present proof of your identity, such as your:
- Present your Social Security card OR a letter of ineligibility from the Social Security Administration (SSA).
- Present proof of your RI residency, such as your:
- Recent utility bill.
- Home insurance policy.
- Pay the required fee:
- Younger than 59 years old: $26.50.
- 59 years old or older is free.
Renew Your State ID Card
You can renew your Rhode Island ID card:
- In person.
Your ID card can be renewed online using the RI DMV Online Service. You will need:
- Your ID card.
- A credit card to pay the $26.50 renewal fee.
- If you are 59 years old or older, your renewal will be free.
You can print a receipt to carry with your expired ID until your new Rhode Island ID arrives within 60 days.
To renew your Rhode Island ID card in person, go to a RI DMV location. You will need:
- Your current state ID card.
- The Application for License, Identification Card and Permits (Form LI-1).
- Payment for the renewal fee:
- $26.50 if you are under 59 years old.
- If you are 59 years old or older the card is free.
Replace Your Rhode Island ID Card
To replace a lost, stolen, or damaged RI identification card, visit your local RI DMV office with:
- Proof of your identity, such as your:
- Birth certificate (original or certified copy).
- Naturalization certificate.
- A document that shows your signature, such as your:
- Social Security card.
- ID card (work, school, or military).
- A completed Application for License, Identification Card and Permits (Form LI-1).
- Payment for the $26.50 fee.
Make sure your name is accurately represented with the Social Security Administration (SSA) before attempting to obtain the duplicate ID. Visit Social Security Online for more information about effecting a name change.
Change Your Name or RI Address
If you've changed your name or address, you must notify the Rhode Island DMV.
NOTE: If you've changed your name, you must obtain a replacement ID card show your new name. If you've moved to a new RI address, it is optional to get a new ID card.
For complete instructions, visit our following pages:
Real ID Act Compliance
Rhode Island's governor has decided to bring the state into compliance with the REAL ID Act. This federal act, passed under the umbrella of the Patriot Act, requires that the original documents presented by an individual obtaining an ID be scanned and authenticated. These documents are then linked to a secured record.