Menu

Accident Guide in Rhode Island

For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.

Licensed by the
California DMV
California DMV
Online Registration Online Registration
Same Day Processing Same Day Processing
E-copy of Registration E-copy of Registration
Alternate Mailing Address Alternate Mailing Address
Phone Support Phone Support
$29 Convenience Fee Learn more below

Start Your CaReg Expedited Registration Renewal

Procedures

Accidents can range from little fender benders to more serious collisions, so knowing what to do if you have an accident can relieve some of the stress. Try to move the accident off the road, especially if you're in an area where there's a chance to cause other accidents. Make sure everyone is okay, and if someone is injured, aid them the best you can and call an ambulance.

If everyone is fine, you'll want to exchange information for your insurance companies: name, telephone number, driver's license and insurance policy number.

Advertisement

Filing an Accident Report

If someone is injured or the accident caused more than $1,000 of damage, a report must be made with the DMV within 21 days.

Related Content

Provide Feedback

DMV.org BBB Business Review

Join the

32,014

people who have pledged through DMV.ORG to drive without distractions.

Looking for Accident Guide in Another State?