Traffic Tickets in Oregon
Stay Informed on Ticket History
Stay up to date on the traffic ticket history of anyone in the U.S.—search public court records for a low fee.
"TruthFinder is a very accurate, updated system. Their information is proper and can be very helpful too." - Zak K.
Disclaimer: TruthFinder cannot be used for employment or tenant screening. TruthFinder is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Report Act. Please note that this is a subscription-based service.
Continue reading for more information about what to do if you receive an Oregon traffic ticket.
Traffic Ticket Fines and Penalties
Traffic ticket fines and court fees in Oregon vary by offense and district court. To find out how much your violation will cost you, refer to your OR traffic ticket or contact the district court handling your case.
In addition to having to pay a fine, the Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division (DMV) may restrict or suspend your driver’s license when you commit multiple traffic tickets or are responsible for any accidents.
If you are 18 years old or older and have any of the following on your driving record, the Oregon DMV will restrict your driving privileges for 30 days:
- 3 convictions.
- 3 accidents.
- A combination of convictions and accidents totaling 3 incidents within 18 months.
The Oregon DMV will suspend your driving privileges for 30 days if you are 18 years old or older AND have any of the following:
- 4 convictions.
- 4 accidents.
- A combination of convictions and accidents equaling 4 incidents within 24 months.
For more information about how traffic tickets affect your driving record, visit our Ticket Fines and Penalties page.
Driver Improvement Program
For more information, contact the Oregon court handling your case.
Pay a Traffic Ticket in Oregon
NOTE: Check your traffic ticket or contact the Oregon district court to learn more about your ticket fines and payment methods. In some cases, a court appearance is mandatory.
The steps to pay your traffic ticket vary by district court. Generally, you may be able to pay your Oregon traffic ticket fines:
- By mail.
- By phone.
- In person.
Be sure to submit your payment before the deadline shown on your ticket. For more instructions, please go to our page about Paying Traffic Tickets.
Fight a OR Traffic Ticket
If you plan to fight your Oregon traffic ticket in court, you must notify the appropriate district court of your not guilty plea and schedule a trial date.
To find out how to proceed, please read our page about Fighting Traffic Tickets.
NOTE: Instructions should be listed on your traffic ticket.
Lost Your Traffic Ticket?
If you've misplaced your OR traffic ticket, contact the appropriate district court for information.
You may need to provide some personal information, such as your:
- Oregon driver's license number.
- License plate number.
Fines & Penalties for Commercial Drivers
If you have a commercial driver's license (CDL), you must notify your employer within 30 days of being convicted of a traffic ticket in Oregon. This applies regardless of the type of vehicle you were driving at the time.
With some offenses, you'll even lose your privilege to drive for 1 year. Here are some examples:
- Leaving the scene of an accident involving a commercial vehicle.
- Operating a commercial vehicle when your license is revoked, cancelled, suspended or you have been disqualified from operating a commercial vehicle.
- Operating a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04% or higher or under the influence of a controlled substance.
- A fatality that is the result of operating a commercial vehicle negligently.
- Using a commercial vehicle to commit a felony (including charges involving controlled substances - distributing, dispensing or manufacturing).
- Refusing an alcohol test
For more information, visit our CDL Suspensions in Oregon page.
Oregon Traffic Tickets: FAQs
Visit our Traffic Ticket FAQ page if you still have questions regarding your traffic ticket. Topics discussed include: