Traffic School in Oregon
Online Course -
Our course helps you learn quickly and easily, using state-specific questions and easy-to-understand answers.
- Study When & Where You Want
- 24/7 Customer Support
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
What is Oregon Traffic School?
In Oregon, a defensive driving course is commonly referred to as traffic school. According to the Oregon circuit court, traffic school courses are available to qualified drivers to promote safe driving and help you avoid traffic convictions being added to your driving record. This is called the Traffic Safety Diversion Program.
Oregon Traffic School Providers
A traffic school course in Oregon can be taken in person from a commercial driving school. In this scenario, you will meet in a classroom setting and the course will be lead by a driving instructor. The course will generally be completed in its entirety the day you choose to take it.
Another option is to take the traffic school course from an approved online provider. Many drivers are finding this online option to be more convenient because it allows you to work on the course around your own personal schedule.
How to Take Traffic School in Oregon
It is very important to note that although traffic school courses are approved in Oregon, you must receive authorization from the local court prior to attending or beginning a traffic school course to dismiss a traffic ticket. In addition, various regulations and restrictions may vary by county. We have detailed many of these requirements below, but you must check with your individual county court for more detailed information about traffic school and the point diversion program.
To be eligible to dismiss a traffic ticket by completing a traffic school course, you must NOT have:
- A commercial driver's license.
- Had any other moving violations within the last 3 years.
- Participated in a traffic school program within the last 3 years.
- Been driving 100 MPH or over at the time of your infraction.
In order to take traffic school and participate in Oregon's point diversion program, you must also meet the following conditions:
- You must waive the right to trial.
- You must plead "no contest" to the charge you have been cited for.
- If you have been cited for multiple offenses, you may only file a point diversion for a single offense.
- You must complete and file a diversion agreement.
- The point diversion must be requested before the court appearance date listed on your citation and the agreement needs to be filed no later than 14 days after your scheduled court appearance.
- You must pay a the full fine or a reduced fine assessed on your ticket (requirement varies by county).
- Payment must be made in full within 30 days of the date the agreement is filed with the court or before end of a diversion program (varies by county)
- You must attend and complete a court-approved traffic school program within 120 days of the date your agreement is filed with the court.
- Each program charges a fee.
- You must pay this fee directly to the program provider.
- If you're a resident of Oregon, you must attend traffic school in person, NOT online.
- You must attend or take an approved traffic school.
Completing Traffic School
Once you've successfully completed traffic school in Oregon, you must:
- Provide proof to the court of your attendance, if the program does not automatically report this to the court.
- Contact the court 2 weeks after completion to confirm they have received notification you completed the course.
- Obey all traffic laws during the diversion period of 120 days.