Scooters, Mopeds, Etc... in Oregon
Cruising around on two wheels is undoubtedly a fun way to get around town. But in order to stay safe and out of trouble, here’s a look at some of the laws that Oregon division of Driver and Motor Vehicle Services (DMV) has set in place before hopping on board your moped or scooter.
Mopeds in Oregon
In order to be considered a moped in the state of Oregon, your vehicle must:
- Ride with only 3 wheels or fewer on the pavement.
- Have a driver’s seat or a saddle.
- Run off of a directly- or automatically-functioning power drive system and DOESN’T require the rider to have to clutch or shift before starting.
- Be able to drive faster than 30 MPH on flat ground.
- Have a combustion engine bigger than 50ccs.
*NOTE: Any cycle or bicycle that is equipped with any of the above power sources is also considered to be a moped.
OR Moped Riding Laws
You don’t need to have a special class of driver’ s license in order to legally ride a moped in Oregon, just a standard operator's license—and you will only need a motorcycle endorsement if your moped or bike can go faster than 30 MPH on flat ground without help, OR if its engine is bigger than 50 ccs.
Otherwise, you’ll need to:
Electric & Gas Scooters
Electric and gas scooters in Oregon do NOT need to be registered or insured, and you don’t need a driver’s license to ride one. As long as you’re at least 16 years old, you’re ready to hit the road!
In Oregon, scooters are classified as vehicles that have:
- 3 wheels or fewer.
- Handlebars and a foot support (or seat).
- A motor with 35cc or less that can’t ride faster than 24 MPH.
- If it’s electric, its power output can’t go above 1,000 watts.
- Capability to be propelled by either a person OR a motor.
When riding, make sure that you always:
- Wear a helmet.
- Ride on bike lanes and paths.
For more information on moped and scooter regulations and classifications, you can check out the Oregon Motorcycle & Moped Manual and the Oregon Moped, Motorized Scooter, Pocket Bike Guide.
Oregon classifies an autocycle as a motorcycle that:
- Rides on 3 wheels.
- Is controlled with a steering wheel.
- Has traditional “non-straddle” seating.
- Comes equipped with a safety belt or harness.
Autocycles drive somewhat differently than mopeds because their features are more similar to those of a car. In Oregon, requirements for riding an autocycle are as follows:
- You can operate your vehicle with any class of driver’s license—you do not need a motorcycle endorsement.
- You and your passengers must always wear a helmet that follows DOT guidelines.
- You may NOT have more than one vehicle at a time alongside another in a single lane of traffic.
Electric Assisted Bicycles
Oregon considers an electric assisted bicycle to be a bicycle; NOT a motor vehicle. As such, you DO NOT need to have it registered or insured, nor do you need a driver’s license permit to ride one. You just need to be 16 years old or older.
- Are equipped with:
- An electric motor of 1,000 watts or less.
- Cannot go faster than 20 MPH.
- Should only be ridden in designated bicycle lanes.
If you still have questions about electric assisted bicycles, contact the Oregon DMV at (503) 945-5000.