Driving Records in Oregon
A personal driving record can be obtained via the Oregon DMV. A potentially faster and more convenient option is to get a copy of your driver record from our approved partner.
You can order your driving record through the Oregon DMV by mail or in person using the record request form. For full details, keep reading!
To order your OR driving record through the Oregon DMV:
- Mail in your completed record request form, plus payment for your specific fee.
- Visit your local DMV office in person with your payment and completed request form.
Keep reading for more details!
Driving Records in Oregon
Your Oregon driving record contains information about your driving history and can be used for a number of reasons, such as pre-employment background checks and lowering your insurance rates.
You can order your OR driver record from the Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division (DMV).
Types of Driving Records in Oregon
In Oregon, there are different types of driving records you can order, depending on what you need it for:
- Non-employment driving record.
- Open-ended non-employment driving record.
- Employment driving record.
- Certified court print.
- Suspension package.
If you are unsure what type you need, you should confirm this with the person requesting it before you order.
For fees relating to each of these records, please see “Fees for Driving Records in Oregon" below.
Need access to publicly available driving history?
If you need to pull only publicly available driving history—to include tickets and court records—our partner below can help you get this information instantly.
Note that this product cannot be used for official driving records, employment, or tenant screening—this partner is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act.
Disclaimer: BeenVerified cannot be used for employment or tenant screening. BeenVerified is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act.
Non-Employment Driving Record
Your non-employment driving record is a certified document that includes the following information from the past 3 years:
- Oregon traffic accidents.
- Diversion agreements.
- Convictions not associated with an employment driving record.
It may also include your commercial driver license (CDL) incidents (if applicable) and any administrative and status entries.
Open-Ended Non-Employment Driving Record
Your open-ended non-employment driving record can only be requested by:
- Insurance companies.
- Insurance support organization.
It is a certified document used by insurance companies to decide your insurance rate. It contains the same information as a non-employment driver record, but it is not limited to only 3 years.
Employment Driving Record
Your employment driver record is a certified history that shows the following information for the past 3 years:
- Employment-related convictions and accidents.
- CDL entries.
- Out-of-state CDL entries, if applicable.
Certified Court Print
Your certified court print includes:
- Major traffic offense convictions.
- CDL incidents.
- Diversion agreements.
- Alcohol rehabilitation entries for the past 10 years.
- Convictions for minor offenses and accidents for a minimum of 5 years.
- Driver's license revocations, cancellations, and suspensions.
Your certified court print may also include administrative, status, and out-of-state CDL entries.
Your Oregon suspension package contains certified documents that relate to a court proceeding, and includes your certified court print (see above).
Other Oregon Driving Records
Driver License Information Record
Your OR driver license information record includes your personal information, including your:
- Date of birth.
- OR driver's license number, type, issue date, and expiration date.
You can access this information either electronically or verbally by using the OR DMV's Interactive Voice Response (IVR) system.
For more information about the IVR system, please visit the Oregon DMV website.
Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Information
Your Oregon traffic accident and insurance information report contains information about any accidents you've had in Oregon, including the:
- Owner of the vehicle.
- Driver details.
- Occupants in the vehicle.
- Vehicle registration number.
- Names of witnesses.
- Insurance information.
This report is only available to those involved in the incident, their families, and their personal representatives.
Police Traffic Crash Report
Your police traffic crash report is a photocopy of an accident report that has been given to the Oregon DMV.
Driver License/ID Card Application History
Your OR driver license/ID card application history contains all copies of your original, duplicate, and renewal applications for a driver's license and/or ID card.
Miscellaneous Driver Document Copy
Your miscellaneous driver document copy contains copies of specific documents relating to your driving privileges, driving record, and non-restricted accident details.
Your purged information record consists of copies of microfiche documents that have entries of a driver record that has been removed from a computer file.
Order Your Oregon Driving Record
You can order your OR driving record in person or by mail. You cannot order it online.
To order your OR driving record in person, first contact your local OR DMV office to see if they process driving record requests. If not, you may need to apply at the office in Salem.
You will need to bring:
- Proof of your identity.
- Visit the OR DMV website for a list of accepted documents.
- A completed Order Your Own Record form (735-7266).
- Cash, check, or money order made payable to “Oregon DMV."
- See “Fees for Driving Records in Oregon" below for fee information.
To request your Oregon driver record by mail, you'll need:
- A completed Order Your Own Record form (735-7266), or a written request that includes:
- The type of record you are requesting (see “Types of Oregon Driving Records" above).
- The driver's name, date of birth, address, and driver's license number.
- A check or money order made payable to “Oregon DMV."
- See “Fees for Driving Records in Oregon" below for specific fees.
If you want your OR driving record mailed to you, include the following with your request:
- The address you want the record sent to.
- Your personal information so the OR DMV can verify your identity (date and place of birth, address, mother's maiden name).
Send the above to:
Attn: Record Services
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 97314
If you prefer to pick the driving record up in person, include your contact number with your request. Take the required documents, payment, proof of your identity (e.g. passport, birth certificate, Oregon driver's license) to the OR DMV office in Salem.
Employer, Insurance, and Court Requests
As mentioned above, there are many different reasons someone may ask to see your Oregon driving record, including:
- To help with a legal issue stemming from a lawsuit.
- As part of a background check for potential employment.
- Routine checks as part of company policy (when driving is associated with work).
- To investigate insurance claims or policies.
If you need to order someone else's driver record for employment screenings, court requests, or insurance purposes, but you do not need a copy with personal information, you will need to provide a Notarized Permission Slip (735-7297) along with proof of your identity.
If the record you need to order contains personal information about the driver, you'll need to present a Request for Information form (735-7122).
Fees for Driving Records in OR
You may expect to pay the following fees for each type of Oregon driving record.
IMPORTANT NOTE: For some types of records, an administrative fee will still be charged if the record cannot be located in the DMV's database. Be prepared to pay a partial amount of OR the entire original fee listed below, even if the DMV cannot find your record.
- Non-employment driving record: $1.50.
- Open-ended non-employment driving record: $1.50.
- Employment driving record: $2.
- Certified court print: $3.
- Suspension package: $11.50.
- Driver license information record: $1.50.
- Oregon traffic accident and insurance information record:
- Non-certified: $12.50.
- Certified: $13.50.
- Police traffic crash report: $8.50.
- Driver license/ID card application history: $17.50.
- Miscellaneous driver document copy: $4.
- Purged information record: $1.50.
Correct Errors on Your OR Driving Record
If you find an error on your OR driving record, contact your local Oregon DMV office to have it corrected. Provide as much information as possible about the error, and give the DMV any proof you possess of the incorrect information.