Ticket Fines and Penalties in Oklahoma
Find a Traffic Ticket Attorney
Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed.
- Quick step-by-step process.
- Matched to Best Attorney.
- Free Service. No Hidden Charges. Confidential.
Oklahoma Traffic Ticket Fines and Costs
Traffic ticket fines vary throughout Oklahoma, differing by court, county and municipality. The ticket fine should be posted on your citation. If you don't see a fine amount it may mean court appearance is required.
For fine amount questions, contact the court listed on the citation.
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)
- Pay the fine.
- Option to plea bargain penalties.
- Incur points on your driving record (could lead to license suspension/revocation).
- Possibly incur increase on auto insurance rates.
- Possibly have points reduced by attending traffic school.
Learn more about
Pay Traffic Ticket.
Car Insurance Rate Hike
Depending on the nature of the violation, a hike in your auto insurance rates could soon follow, adding a long-term financial sting. Consider shopping for rates online to find more affordable coverage.
Oklahoma Traffic Ticket Penalties
In addition to traffic ticket fines, you'll also face penalties, with points and the suspension or revocation of your OK driver's license being the most common.
OK Driver's License Suspension and Revocation
Suspension and revocation are the two most common terms associated with loss of driving privileges.
License Suspension: The temporary loss of your driver's license. Driving privileges are returned after satisfying all reinstatement requirements
License Revocation: Your OK driver's license is terminated. Once the revocation period has ended, you must reapply for a new driver's license to resume driving.
The DPS will revoke your OK driver's license for up to 3 years for a conviction of any of the following violations:
- Manslaughter or negligent homicide resulting from operating a motor vehicle.
- Driving while under the influence of alcohol (DUI).
- Any drug conviction while using a motor vehicle.
- Failing to provide aid if involved in a car accident involving injury or death.
- Any felony in which a vehicle is used.
Oklahoma Point System
Every time you're convicted of a traffic violation, the state assigns points to your driving record. The more severe the violation the higher the total point number.
If you accumulate 10 or more points within a 5 year period, the Department of Public Safety (DPS) will suspend your Oklahoma driver's license. Depending on your driving history, you may be eligible for a point reduction.
Penalties for Drivers Younger Than 21
Oklahoma enforces a "zero tolerance" policy. This means the state will revoke your Oklahoma driver's license if convicted of driving with any alcohol in your system. The penalties are as follows:
- First offense: 6 month revocation.
- Second offense: 12 month revocation.
- Third offense: 36 month revocation.
Penalties for Drivers Younger Than 18
In addition to the penalties described above, your license or permit will be terminated if convicted of any crime or violation involving drugs or alcohol. The length of the penalty will be determined by the court.
Your driving privileges will also be pulled if you withdraw or drop out of school.
Penalties for Oklahoma Commercial Drivers
If convicted of a traffic violation, you must:
- Notify your employer within 30 days of the traffic ticket conviction date.
- Notify your employer within two business days day if your CDL is suspended, revoked, cancelled, or disqualified.
- Notify the Department of Public Safety (DPS) after being convicted of an out-of-state traffic violation.
You will lose your Oklahoma CDL for one year if convicted of any of the following offenses:
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a BAC of 0.04%.
- Refusing to submit to a sobriety test.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Using the vehicle to commit a felony.
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a suspended, revoked or canceled CDL.
- Causing a fatality through negligent driving.
These violations include:
- Reckless driving.
- Improper lane changes.
- Following a vehicle too closely.
- Driving a CMV without holding a CDL.
- Driving a CMV without having your CDL in your possession.
- Driving a CMV without the proper CDL endorsement.
- Violating a state law of texting while driving.