DMV Point System in Oklahoma
Online Course -
Our course helps you learn quickly and easily, using state-specific questions and easy-to-understand answers.
- Study When & Where You Want
- 24/7 Customer Support
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Long after his days of playing Cordell Walker, Oklahoma native Chuck Norris continues his legacy as a universally-recognized tough guy. Similarly, traffic tickets can have a lasting influence on your driving privileges, even after you've paid the necessary fines.
The OK Department of Public Safety (DPS) uses a point system to monitor the traffic citations you receive. We'll teach you the basics of the Oklahoma DPS' point system and its potential effects on your driver's license.
Points & OK License Suspension
If you're accustomed to driving yourself to work, school, the supermarket, etc., having enough points on your Oklahoma driving record could completely change your day-to-day routine.
The OK DPS will suspend your driver's license if you accumulate 10 points or more in 5 years.
The length of the suspension depends on how many times your license has previously been suspended:
- 1st suspension: 1 month.
- 2nd suspension: 3 months.
- 3rd suspension: 6 months.
- 4th suspension AND all subsequent suspensions: 12 months.
Some traffic tickets could warrant immediate suspension of your driving privileges; a few examples include:
- Leaving the scene of an accident involving personal injury and/or death.
- Committing manslaughter or negligent homicide with a motor vehicle.
Head over to our suspended licenses guide to learn about reinstating your Oklahoma driving privileges.
Knowing how many points are on your record ensures you'll be prepared in the event of a license suspension. Check your OK driving record today for some peace of mind tomorrow!
Oklahoma DPS Point Schedule
The severity of each traffic offense determines how many points it carries. Examples include:
- Driving a defective vehicle: 1 point.
- Violating a license restriction: 2 points.
- Careless driving: 2 points.
- Following too closely behind another vehicle: 2 points.
- Failure to obey a stop sign OR red light: 2 points.
- Failing to yield right of way: 2 points.
- Driving in the wrong direction: 2 points.
- Lower speeding violations: 2 points.
- Speeding over the limit by more than 25 MPH: 3 points.
- Reckless driving: 4 points.
- Failing to stop for a school bus loading/unloading students: 4 points.
- All other violations not listed (excluding those with mandatory license suspension): 1 point.
NOTE: If you have a valid commercial driver's license (CDL), the OK DPS may assign you higher point penalties AND automatic license suspension for certain offenses. Check out our suspended CDL page for details.
DID YOU KNOW: Your auto insurance provider looks at the number of points on your record when deciding how much to charge you for coverage. Read up on how traffic tickets can affect your car insurance rates, especially if you've received citations in the past.
Clear Your OK Driving Record
Keeping a clean record is crucial to maintaining your driving privileges.
After driving a certain amount of time without receiving traffic tickets, the OK Department of Public Safety will automatically remove points from your record:
- 12 months: 2 points removed.
- 3 years: all points removed.
You also have the option of completing an Oklahoma defensive driving course, which will remove 2 points from your record. The OK DPS allows you to take a defensive driving course for point reduction once every 24 months.