DUI Attorneys in Oklahoma
You can hire a DUI attorney to represent you if you're charged with driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol/drugs or related charges in Oklahoma. Your lawyer can help you navigate the court process—from arrest to penalties—if you're convicted.
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
Continue reading for information about DUI attorneys in Oklahoma.
If you're arrested and charged with driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs, you may decide to hire a DUI attorney.
It can be tough to choose a lawyer, but you can do a few things to make the decision easier:
- Ask for references. If you know people who work in the legal profession or have used a DUI lawyer, ask them for a recommendation.
- Stay local. A lawyer who practices in your OK city or town may have professional relationships with the local courts and police.
- Look for experienced attorneys. A lawyer who specializes in cases of driving while intoxicated (DWI) likely has experience relevant to your case.
- Book a consultation. Schedule a free consultation to ask lawyers about their fees and experience.
- Find out the cost. Ask any DUI lawyers you talk to what their fees are, as well as how and when they expect payment, before you hire one.
Having confidence in your DUI attorney is important since you should trust your lawyer to handle your case.
Hire a DUI attorney with experience handling similar DUI cases to yours.
You can be charged with a DUI for driving under the influence of alcohol, illegal drugs, and even prescription drugs.
In Oklahoma, you can be charged with:
- A misdemeanor for your 1st offense.
- A felony if you have prior DUI convictions.
- A zero tolerance violation if you're under 21 years old.
You may want to ask the DUI attorneys you talk to about the types of cases they've handled, especially if your case is unique in any way.
Most DUI convictions result in:
- Suspension or revocation of your OK driver's license.
- Criminal penalties, including a jail sentence and a fine.
The judge presiding over your case determines your fine and jail time and usually has some flexibility.
For example, if this is your 1st offense, you can receive:
- 10 days to 1 year of jail time.
- A maximum fine of $1,000.
Your DUI lawyer can advocate for certain sentencing based on the details of your case.
After you're convicted, the court will notify the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS), who will revoke your OK driver's license. This is a mandatory revocation.
Your DUI attorney CANNOT guarantee a particular outcome, but he or she can apply experience and knowledge to get you the best outcome possible for your circumstances.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!