Driver Improvement Program in Oklahoma
What is an Oklahoma Driver Improvement Course?
In the state of Oklahoma, traffic school is referred to as a defensive driving course. The OK Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the administrative authority when it comes to regulating defensive driving courses, so when you choose a course, be sure it has been approved by the state.
There are many reasons to complete a defensive driving course in Oklahoma, including to dismiss a traffic ticket, lower your insurance rates, and improve your driving skills.
Can you take Defensive Driving in OK?
In Oklahoma, a defensive driving course can be taken in person at a commercial driver's training school OR you can opt for a course offered by an approved online provider. If you attend a driver's training school in person, you will complete your course in a classroom setting, and you will be taught by a certified instructor. This type of course is typically offered on a Saturday or during the evening following school and work hours.
The online option for defensive driving courses is becoming a popular option due to the fact that you can schedule your own hours and complete the course in the comfort of your own home. The required amount of hours must still be completed, but you can start and stop the course whenever a break is needed.
If you opt for the online traffic school option in Oklahoma, you will be required to complete the course by a specific date. Usually, if you do not successfully complete your course within the required time, you'll fail the course and will not be eligible for a refund.
Check with your course provider for more information about:
- Deadline for completion.
- Options to retake the final exam (if you fail).
Defensive Driving Course Details
Depending on your circumstances, you may be required or choose to take an Oklahoma driver improvement course to:
- Dismiss a traffic ticket.
- Satisfy a court requirement.
- Prevent points from accumulating on your driving record.
- Prevent license suspension.
- Earn a safe driver auto insurance discount.
OK defensive driving courses are divided into separate chapters on different topics that teach the safe driving habits of being a responsible and more defensive driver.
Topics covered will include:
- Crash prevention and the cost of traffic accidents.
- Contributing factors to vehicle crashes.
- Regulations, traffic laws, and highway environmental factors.
Course length may vary based on your provider and court requirements (if applicable). You'll receive a certificate of completion once you've passed, which you will submit to your court, or if you're looking for a reduction in your auto insurance rates, to your insurance company.
Remove Points from Your OK Driving Record
Completing a defensive driving course in Oklahoma can allow you to remove points from your driving record.
The Oklahoma DPS point system is designed to keep track of a person's driving history and keep unsafe drivers off the road. You start with a clean record, meaning no points, then each time you are convicted of a traffic violation, you are assessed 1 point or more on your driver's history. If you accumulate 10 points or more within 5 years, your OK driver's license will be suspended.
Once you've successfully completed traffic school, 2 points will be deducted from your driving record. Please note, you can only receive this point reduction once every 24 months and you can not go below 0 points on your record.
To be eligible for a point reduction or dismiss a traffic ticket in OK, you may need meet the following requirements:
- You were not driving a commercial vehicle when you committed the violation.
- You have a valid Oklahoma driver's license.
- You were not ticketed for multiple violations.
Your court may send you a notice indicating whether you are eligible to take a driver improvement course to dismiss your traffic ticket. This may also be indicated on your traffic ticket.