Applying for a New License (Drivers 18+) in Oklahoma
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
SUMMARY: How to Apply for a Driver's License in Oklahoma
You must apply for an OK driver's license in person at a DPS office. You will need to provide various documents to include proof of identification and Social Security number, pass the required exams (written, driving, and vision), and pay the required fees.
This page will help you get your first driver's license from the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS).
NOTE: If you're a teenager applying for your first OK learner's permit, please visit our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) page.
The Oklahoma DPS has recently announced that several licenses have been printed in error with security holograms placed on the back of the cards rather than the front. Click here for more information about the misprinted licenses including instructions on replacing your misprinted card.
New to Oklahoma?
If you've recently moved to Oklahoma from elsewhere in the country, it's usually a simple and straightforward process to obtain an OK driver's license.
What you'll need to do to apply for a Oklahoma driver's license depends on whether your out-of-state license is still valid or not.
- If your current license still valid OR has been expired for 6 months or less, you'll only need to pass the vision test.
- If your out-of-state driver's license has been expired for longer than 6 months, you'll need to successfully pass the Oklahoma written test and driving tests.
Follow the driver's license application procedure outlined below. In addition to providing the required documents and payment, you'll also need to surrender your out-of-state driver's license.
Find all the information you need to finish your moving requirements with the DMV.
Types of Oklahoma Driver's Licenses
Your standard driver's license in Oklahoma is a Class D license. (First-time drivers may also apply for a learner's permit.)
Apply for an OK Driver's License
To obtain an OK driver's license, you must apply in person at your local OK DPS office.
You'll need to submit the following to the DPS agent:
- 1 document showing primary identification, such as your:
- 1 document showing secondary identification, such as your:
- Social Security card.
- Oklahoma voter I.D. card.
- High school diploma.
- Your Social Security number (SSN).
- Proof of your name change, if applicable.
- Proof of your car insurance.
- Payment for the required fee.
Visit the OK DPS website for a complete list of required and accepted documents.
While at the OK DPS office, you will also need to pass the following exams:
- Written knowledge.
NOTE: If you have a valid driver's license from another state, you will need to surrender it to the OK DPS. Your written and driving exams may be waived.
Written and Driving Tests
The written knowledge exam will be based on information found in the Oklahoma Driver's Manual. You will be tested on topics such as:
- Drug and alcohol laws.
- Local Oklahoma traffic laws.
- Safe driving practices.
If you fail your written test, you will need to wait at least 1 day before you can retake it.
Before you can take your road test, you'll need to have passed both your vision and written knowledge exams.
If you fail the driving test, you must wait at least 1 day before retaking the exam. You can only fail 3 times within 30 days of your first try. All attempts following this must be 30 days apart.
Fees for an Oklahoma Driver's License
You will need to pay the following fees for a Class D Oklahoma driver's license:
- Younger than 62 years old: $38.50 .
- 62 years old: $21.25.
- 63 years old: $17.50.
- 64 years old: $13.75.
- 65 years old and older: Free.
All applicants pay a $4 application fee.
Licenses for Non-U.S. Citizens
If you're not a U.S. citizen, you will have additional requirements when applying for your OK driver's license.
If you're transferring a valid driver's license from a U.S. territory, you must provide a driving record translated into English (from the last 60 days) to have the driving and written test waived. You'll need to show all the identification documents mentioned above.
If you're a foreign national or a legal permanent resident alien, your accepted primary identification documents will differ. See the OK DPS website for a complete list.