Ticket Fines and Penalties in Ohio
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Ohio Traffic Ticket Fines and Costs
Traffic ticket fines are not uniform throughout Ohio. This means a fine for disobeying a yield sign in Dayton will not be the same in Ashtabula. If you have questions regarding the ticket's fine amount, contact the court listed on your citation. If you've misplaced the citation, learn what steps to take in our Lost Traffic Ticket page.
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)
- Pay the fine
- Option to plea bargain penalties
- Incur points on your driving record (could lead to license suspension/revocation)
- Possibly incur increase on auto insurance rates
- Possibly have points reduced by attending a remedial driving school
Learn more about
Paying Your Traffic Ticket »
Auto Insurance Rate
Depending on the policies of your car insurance provider, increased rates may follow the appearance of a traffic violation on your driving record. Compare auto insurance rates online if you're in the market for a more affordable policy.
Ohio Traffic Ticket Penalties
In addition to traffic ticket fines, you'll also incur penalties, which are uniform throughout Ohio. Points and possible loss of driving privileges are the two most common penalties. The nature of the traffic violation, driving record history and license type (CDL, instruction permit, etc) all factor into determining the extent of the penalties.
Ohio Point System
Every time you're convicted of a traffic violation, the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) assigns points to your driving record. The more severe the infraction, the higher the point total. You can learn more about point assignments on our Ohio Points page.
The BMV closely monitors point totals:
- Sending out warning letters to drivers with 6 points or more within a period of 2 years.
- Suspending Ohio driver licenses with 12 points or more within 2 years.
OH Driver's License Suspension and Revocation
Suspension and revocation are the most common terms associated with loss of driving privileges.
Suspended License―The temporary loss of your Ohio driver's license for a specified period of time. Driving privileges are returned once all reinstatement requirements are satisfied.
Revoked License―The cancellation of your Ohio driver's license for an extended period of time. Once the revocation period has ended, you must reapply for a new driver's license.
Some of the ways your OH driver's license could be suspended or revoked include:
- Accumulating 12 points or more within 2 years
- Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs
- Driving without car insurance
- Refusing a blood-alcohol test
Consult our Ohio Suspended License page for a full list of suspension reasons.
Penalties for Drivers Younger Than 18
In addition to the violations described above, if you are under 18 years old you could lose your driving privileges if you cited for driving a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Penalties for Ohio Commercial Drivers
Remember to notify your employer within 30 days of a traffic violation conviction (excluding parking violations). For violations that occur out of the state jurisdiction you must report violations to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles within 30 days.
You will lose your Ohio CDL for 1 year if convicted of any of the following offenses (3 years for a CMV placarded for hazardous materials):
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a BAC of 0.04%
- Refusing to submit to a sobriety test
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Using the vehicle to commit a felony
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a suspended, revoked or canceled CDL
- Causing a fatality through negligent driving
These violations include:
- Reckless driving
- Improper lane changes
- Following a vehicle too closely
- Driving a CMV without holding a CDL
- Driving a CMV without having your CDL in your possession
- Driving a CMV without the proper CDL endorsement
- Violating a state law of texting while driving
For more information about suspended licenses please refer to our CDL Suspended License page.