DUI Attorneys in Ohio
After being arrested for operating a vehicle under the influence (OVI) of drugs/alcohol also know as driving under the influence (DUI) in Ohio, you may want to look into hiring a DUI attorney. Legal counsel could help to minimize the fines and penalties associated with an OVI.
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
The information on this page may help you find the right OH DUI attorney for you.
Before hiring a DUI lawyer, read the tips below to help you find the right one:
- Ask for suggestions.
- Your friends and family might know a great DUI attorney.
- If you browse your local area, you'll likely find a DUI attorney who knows the local Ohio courts and law enforcement well enough to get you a positive outcome.
- Hire an attorney who has experience with similar OVI cases.
- Make contact with multiple law firms.
- Your first consultation is normally free of charge, so do your research.
- Inquire about your legal fees.
- Always ask what you'll have to pay in attorney fees before you hire one. Hidden costs can get expensive.
Charges Handled by DUI Attorneys
A DUI attorney can represent you in court for any of the following charges:
- Adult drivers: Driving with a BAC of 0.08% or higher.
- Younger than 21 years old: Driving with a BAC of 0.02% or more but less than 0.08%.
- Refusing a BAC test.
- Commercial Driver: Driving with a BAC of 0.04% or more.
In addition to answering all of your questions before your court hearing, a DUI attorney can offer assistance by:
- Representing you in Ohio court.
- Figuring out how you should plead.
- Instructing you on what to bring to court.
- Providing details about the penalties you're facing.
In Ohio, the criminal penalties for an OVI conviction are based on your offense, age, and driving record. Here are some examples of penalties you could face:
- Fines between $375 to $1,075 for your 1st offense.
- Court ordered driver's license suspension between 6 months to 3 years.
- Completion of a remedial driving class.
- Jail time.
- Increased car insurance rates.
You can also face additional penalties by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles for a 1st offense OVI such as:
- Driver's license suspension of 90 days.
- 6 points on your license
- Driver's license reinstatement fees starting at $100.
The potential consequences for your OVI may warrant having a DUI attorney represent you in court. Please visit our DUI & DWI in Ohio page for more details on what to expect.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!