Traffic Tickets in Nevada
Stay Informed on Ticket History
Stay up to date on the traffic ticket history of anyone in the U.S.—search public court records for a low fee. Unlimited searches for 30 days—only $23.
"TruthFinder is a very accurate, updated system. Their information is proper and can be very helpful too." - Zak K.
Disclaimer: TruthFinder cannot be used for employment or tenant screening. TruthFinder is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Report Act. Please note that this is a subscription-based service.
Continue reading this page for more information on how to respond to your Nevada traffic ticket.
Traffic Ticket Fines and Penalties
Traffic fines in Nevada vary by court. Check your traffic ticket for the exact fine amount. For additional information, please contact the appropriate NV traffic court.
NOTE: Failure to pay your traffic ticket fines may result in greater fines and a driver's license suspension.
Driving Record Points
When you're convicted of a traffic violation, the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will add demerit points to your driving record. If you accumulate 12 points in 12 months, your NV driver's license will be suspended for 6 months.
Depending on your violation, you may also be required to complete a traffic school course. Refer to your traffic ticket or contact the relevant NV county court for more details.
Pay a Traffic Ticket in Nevada
For specific instructions on how to pay your NV traffic ticket, check the ticket itself or contact the appropriate traffic court. Depending on your violation and court, you may be able to pay your NV traffic ticket:
- By mail.
- By phone.
- By MoneyGram.
- In person.
Fight a NV Traffic Ticket
To enter a “not guilty" plea and fight your traffic ticket in Nevada, you may need to appear in court on your scheduled arraignment date (shown on your ticket). Depending on your court and violation, there may be additional requirements.
For specific instructions on how to fight your traffic violation in court, refer to your traffic ticket or contact the traffic court in the NV county where you received your ticket.
Lost Your Traffic Ticket?
If you need your violation information after losing your NV traffic citation, you'll need to get in touch with the traffic court in the county where you were ticketed.
You may also want to visit the court's website for more ticket information.
Fines & Penalties for Commercial Drivers
As a commercial driver in Nevada, you must notify your employer within 30 days of being convicted of a traffic violation.
If you are convicted of any of the following offenses, you'll lose your commercial driver's license (CDL) for 1 year:
- Driving a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04% or higher.
- Refusing to submit to a BAC test.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Operating a CMV when your license is suspended, cancelled or revoked or if you have been disqualified from operating a CMV.
- Negligent operation of a CMV which causes a fatality.
- The operation of a CMV under the influence of a controlled substance.
- A felony involving the use of a CMV including distributing, dispensing or and/or manufacturing a controlled substance.
For more information visit our page about Suspended CDLs in Nevada.
Nevada Traffic Tickets: FAQs
View our Traffic Ticket FAQ page to learn more about the following topics: