Ticket Fines and Penalties in Nevada
NV Traffic Ticket Fines and Costs
The exact fine amount will be listed on your NV traffic ticket. If you can't find your NV traffic ticket, learn what to do on our Lost Traffic Ticket page.
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)
- Pay the fine
- Option to plea bargain penalties
- Incur points on your driving record (could lead to license suspension/revocation)
- Possible option to take driving safety course to reduce points
- Possibly incur increase on auto insurance rates
Learn more about
Paying Your Traffic Ticket »
(Plead Not Guilty)
- Contest traffic ticket via trial
- Choose to represent yourself or hire an attorney
- Possibly lose option to plea bargain for lesser penalties
- No penalties if found guilty, but must pay court/attorney fees
- Be found guilty, pay fines, court/legal fees and be assessed penalties
Learn more about
Fighting Your Traffic Ticket »
Auto Insurance Rate Increase
Depending on your car insurance company's policies, you may see a rate increase after being cited. If your car insurance premiums exceed your budget plan, shop online to compare multiple auto insurance rates from a variety of auto insurance companies.
Nevada Traffic Ticket Penalties
Demerit points being added to your driving record and having your NV driver's license revoked or suspended are the most common penalties. The extent of the penalties are dictated by the severity of the infraction and by license type (instruction permit, CDL, etc.).
Nevada Point System
The Nevada DMV employs a demerit points system, assigning points to your driving record with every traffic violation. The more serious the violation, the higher the point total. Points are deleted after one year from the conviction date, while the violation remains permanently on your record.
When you accumulate between 3 and 11 points on your driving record, you're eligible to have 3 points removed (provided it's not part of a plea bargain agreement) by completing an NV DMV-approved safety course. For more information, read our page on Traffic School.
Points assignments for some of the Nevada's more common traffic violations include:
- Reckless driving―8 points
- Driving one to 10 mph over the posted speed limit―1 point
- Driving 11 to 20 mph over the posted speed limit―2 points
- Failure to yield to a pedestrian―4 points
- Disobeying a stop sign―4 points
- Disobeying a traffic signal―4 points
Driver's License Suspension and Revocation
If your NV driver's license gets suspended or revoked, it always helps to know the difference between the terms:
License Suspension―The temporary withdrawal of your Nevada driving privileges.
License Revocation―The termination of your Nevada driving privileges. Reinstatement often requires retaking the knowledge and road tests.
Your Nevada driver's license may be revoked or suspended for a variety of reasons:
- Collision with a pedestrian or bicyclist
- Failure to maintain car insurance
- 12 or more points on your driving record
- Failure to pay child support
- Graffiti conviction
- Street racing
Keep in mind that license reinstatement following a suspension or revocation is not guaranteed. It's the decision of the Nevada DMV.
Penalties for Juvenile Drivers
In addition to the violations listed above, juvenile drivers might also lose their Nevada driving privileges for:
- Certain firearm violations
- Found guilty of buying, drinking or possessing alcohol
- Found guilty of using, possessing, selling or distributing any controlled substance
In addition, young drivers may also be suspended for violating any driving restrictions (too many passengers, driving during curfew hours, etc.).
Check Your Driving Record
Always check your driving record's point total. Any unwarranted points could possibly jeopardize your driver's license status and/or cause a leap in your car insurance premiums.
Penalties for Nevada Commercial Drivers
You must notify your employer within 30 days of a traffic violation, regardless of the type of vehicle you were driving.
You will lose your NV CDL for 1 year if convicted of any of the following offenses:
- Driving any vehicle with a blood alcohol count (BAC) of 0.08% or higher
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a BAC of 0.04%
- Refusing to submit to a sobriety test
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Using the vehicle to commit a felony
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a suspended, revoked or canceled CDL
- Causing a fatality through negligent driving
These violations include:
- Speeding 15 mph over the posted speed limit
- Reckless driving
- Improper lane changes
- Following a vehicle too closely
- Driving a CMV without holding a CDL
- Driving a CMV without having your CDL in your possession
- Driving a CMV without the proper CDL endorsement
- Violating a state law of texting while driving
A 2nd conviction of any combination of these violations will lead to the loss of your driving privileges for 60 days, or 120 days for a 3rd or subsequent conviction of any combination of these offenses.