DMV Point System in Nevada
Online Course -
Our course helps you learn quickly and easily, using state-specific questions and easy-to-understand answers.
- Study When & Where You Want
- 24/7 Customer Support
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Without fail, people flock to Nevada to indulge—after all, what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas, right? Unlike the events of a weekend spent in Sin City, however, traffic tickets are not so easily left behind, and remain on your driving record in the form of points.
We'll teach you the basics of the NV Department of Motor Vehicles' (DMV) point system, which tracks the citations you receive.
Points & License Suspension in NV
If you usually drive yourself to work, school, the grocery store, etc., having enough points on your record could turn your daily routine on its head.
Once you accumulate 12 points or more in 12 months, the Nevada DMV will suspend your driver's license for 6 months.
Regardless of points, when you're convicted of DUI, you'll automatically lose your driving privileges.
Check out our guide to suspended licenses to learn about reinstating your Nevada driver's license.
Knowing how many points you have on your NV driving record means you'll know how close you are to license suspension—something you want to be prepared for. Check your driving record today and gain some peace of mind tomorrow.
Nevada DMV Point Schedule
The more serious a traffic ticket is, the more points it carries. Below are some common traffic citations and their corresponding point values.
- Speeding over the limit by:
- 1 to 10 MPH: 1 point.
- 11 to 20 MPH: 2 points.
- 21 to 30 MPH: 3 points.
- 31 to 40 MPH: 4 points.
- 41 MPH or more: 5 points.
- Driving too slowly AND/OR impeding traffic: 2 points.
- Failing to dim your headlights when necessary: 2 points.
- Following too closely behind another vehicle: 4 points.
- Failing to yield the right of way: 4 points.
- Passing a school bus while its signals are flashing: 4 points.
- Careless driving: 6 points.
- Leaving the scene of an accident: 6 points.
- Reckless driving: 8 points.
For the full point schedule, head over to the NV Department of Motor Vehicles' list of violation codes.
For tickets with higher point values, you may be required to plead your case in court. Read our guide to fighting traffic tickets for tips on preparing for traffic court.
NOTE: If you're a commercial driver in Nevada, you could face license suspension AND greater point penalties for certain traffic violations. See our Suspended CDL section for details.
DID YOU KNOW: If you're issued a traffic ticket, your auto insurance provider could charge you more for coverage. Read up on how traffic violations can affect your car insurance rates, especially if you recently received a citation.
Clearing Your NV Driving Record
Keeping a clean driving record is the best way to maintain your driving privileges. The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles will automatically remove points 12 months after a citation's conviction date.
For a quicker removal of points, consider taking a NV traffic safety school course.
To take a course for point reduction, you must:
- Have 3 to 11 points on your record.
- NOT take it as part of a plea bargain.
When you complete a traffic safety school course, the DMV will remove 3 points from your record. You can take a course for point reduction once every 12 months.