Pay Traffic Ticket in Nevada
Online Course -
Our course helps you learn quickly and easily, using state-specific questions and easy-to-understand answers.
- Study When & Where You Want
- 24/7 Customer Support
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Pleading Guilty to Your NV Traffic Ticket
When you decide to pay your traffic ticket outright, it's seen as a “guilty" plea or a “nolo contendere" plea.
Generally, taking this route means:
- Unless your traffic ticket indicates you must appear in court, you have various payment options aside from paying in person, including paying online, by mail, and by phone.
- See How to Pay Your NV Traffic Ticket below.
- You'll be assigned points on your driving record, the number of which depends on the violation.
- After accumulating a certain number of points, your driver's license could be suspended.
- Depending on the severity of the violation, you could face a mandatory license suspension or revocation.
- Likely, your auto insurance provider will increase your rates.
Make sure you pay your fine by the deadline printed on the citation; failure to do so can lead to additional penalties.
CDL Holders & NV Traffic Tickets
No matter what kind of vehicle you were driving when you received the citation, if you're a commercial driver who pleads “guilty" or is found guilty in court you must:
- Notify your employer within 30 days of the “guilty" plea or conviction.
- Notify your driver license agency within 30 days of the “guilty" plea or conviction.
Be prepared for some serious penalties, too; for example, depending on the violation, some offenses carry mandatory CDL suspension or revocation.
Find more details in the NV Commercial Driver License Manual.
How to Pay Your NV Traffic Ticket
How you can pay your traffic ticket depends on your presiding court and the nature of the violation. For example, your court may or may not have online options; likewise, you might have to appear in court and therefore can't use these payment options.
For specific instructions on how to pay your NV traffic ticket, check the ticket itself or contact the appropriate traffic court. Depending on your violation and court, you may be able to pay your NV traffic ticket:
- By mail.
- By phone.
- By MoneyGram.
- In person.
Be aware that:
- You must pay your traffic ticket by the deadline stated on your citation.
- Failure to pay could lead to additional fines and even license suspension.
- You'll need information from your NV traffic ticket to pay it.
- If you've misplaced yours, skip over to our page on Lost Traffic Tickets in Nevada.
Defensive Driving & NV Traffic Tickets
You may be given the option to complete a Nevada traffic school course as part of your traffic ticket plea. Some reasons to complete a state-approved traffic safety school include:
- Your judge gives you the option as a way to have your ticket dismissed.
- Ask your judge about this possibility; don't assume.
- You're required to complete the course to satisfy your ticket.
- It's time to reduce the points on your driving record.
- You want a car insurance discount.
- Talk to your coverage provider about this; don't assume.
- It's a good idea to brush up on your driving skills to avoid future offenses.
Watch Your Car Insurance Rates
It's common for car insurance companies to increase coverage rates after a “guilty" plea or verdict.
Talk with your provider about this possibility, and if you're facing an increase consider comparing coverage rates online for a more affordable policy.
Check Your NV Driving Record
Your driving record is an account of your driving history, and among other elements, features “guilty" traffic tickets and the points that go with them.
Negative information on a motorist's driving record can seriously hurt his or her driving privileges, which is why it's important to check your driving record after dealing with a traffic ticket:
- Make sure your driving record shows ONLY convicted traffic violations. Generally, the following traffic tickets should NOT appear:
- Those you challenged in court and received a “not guilty" verdict.
- Those that were dismissed because you completed a traffic safety school.
- Check that your driving privileges are intact.