Scooters, Mopeds, Etc... in Nevada
Depending on your motor-driven cycle’s specifications, you might—or might not—need to register it with the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You might even need to have it inspected and insured.
Let us help you figure it out.
What Is a Moped in Nevada?
In Nevada, a moped is any motor-driven scooter, cycle, or similar motor-driven vehicle that meets the following criteria:
- Engine produces no more than 2 brake horsepower.
- Engine displacement is no more than 50 CC OR the motor produces no more than 1,500 watts.
- Travels on no more than 3 wheels in contact with the ground.
- Can travel no more than 30 MPH on a flat surface.
You can operate a moped with any class of driver’s license; you don’t need a motorcycle license or endorsement.
Nevada doesn’t require you to wear a helmet, but your moped must have all the safety equipment required for regular motorcycles. Refer to Nevada’s Motorcycle Operator Manual for additional safety and traffic laws.
NV Moped Inspection & Registration
Nevada doesn’t require you to purchase insurance; however, you must have your moped inspected and register your moped once for moped license plates.
First, you’ll get your moped inspected. Basically, the inspector is going to make sure your motor-driven cycle is actually a moped (i.e. fits the above definition of a moped) and check the vehicle identification number (VIN).
Bring the following to either your local DMV office or sheriff’s office (if you live in a rural area without a DMV office):
- Your moped.
- A completed Moped Registration Application/Inspection (Form VP-30).
- Payment for the $1 inspection fee.
NOTE: If the inspector determines your vehicle is actually a motorcycle, you’ll follow motorcycle registration procedures.
Once the inspector determines your vehicle meets the definition of a moped, you’ll register your moped. The NV DMV requires you to register mopeds in person. Certain cities offer appointments.
Bring the following:
- The completed Moped Registration Application/Inspection (Form VP-30).
- All dealer-related paperwork if you purchased the moped from a dealership.
- Applicable registration fees. GENERALLY, fees total an approximate $60, which includes:
- $33 registration fee.
- Governmental Service Taxes for 1 year. This is based on the moped’s value.
- Moped license plate fees.
- Any other registration-related fees.
The moped registration remains valid as long as you’re the owner; you don’t need to register it again. If you sell the moped, the new owner is responsible for having it inspected and registering it in his or her name.
Trimobiles in Nevada
A trimobile is any motor vehicle that’s manufactured to drive with 3 wheels on the ground; 1 wheel must be power-driven.
You need any class of driver’s license to drive a trimobile; you don’t need a motorcycle license or endorsement.
Nevada doesn’t require you to wear a helmet while operating a trimobile, but you must wear eye protection or the trimobile must be equipped with a windscreen. Check the Nevada Driver’s Handbook and Motorcycle Operator Manual for additional safety and traffic regulations.
The NV DMV requires you to have your trimobile inspected, insured, and registered. Handle these processes the same as you would motorcycle registration.
NOTE: Motorcycles with sidecars aren’t trimobiles.
Electric Bicycles in NE
An electric bicycle in Nevada is a device that’s generally recognized as a bicycle but has:
- 2 or 3 wheels.
- Not designed to travel with more than 3 wheels in contact with the ground.
- Fully operable pedals.
- An electric engine that produces no more than:
- 1 brake horsepower.
- 750 watts.
- The ability to travel no faster than 20 MPH on a flat surface carrying a driver who weighs 170 lbs.
You don’t need a driver’s license to operate an electric bike, and the state doesn’t require you to wear a helmet or inspect, insure, or register your bike.