DUI Attorneys in Nevada
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
When picking a DUI attorney in NV, keep the following tips in mind:
- Seek recommendations. Get in touch with friends and family to find out if they know of any reputable DUI attorneys.
- Hire a skilled DUI lawyer. Look for an attorney who has experience with handling similar DUI cases.
- Look for lawyers in your local area. Find an attorney who knows the Nevada DUI laws and court system well.
- Call several lawyers. Since most lawyers do not charge for consultations, you may want to speak with as many DUI attorneys as possible to make sure you're getting someone right for you.
- Find out about your fees. Inquire about your attorney fees, deadlines, and payment options ahead of time.
Charges Handled by DUI Attorneys
If you were arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol in Nevada, you were likely caught driving with the following blood alcohol concentration (BAC):
- 0.08% or more for all regular drivers.
- 0.04% or more if you were driving a commercial vehicle.
- 0.02% or more, if you are younger than 21 years old.
DUI attorneys can help you with any of the above charges, as well as other alcohol-related offenses, such as refusing a BAC test or driving with an open container of alcohol in your vehicle.
Hiring a lawyer for your Nevada DUI charges could offer a number of advantages. DUI attorneys can:
- Appear in court for you.
- Handle all court paperwork.
- Offer advice on your best plea.
- Get you ready for your hearing.
Despite not being able to give you any guarantees that you'll win your case, a DUI attorney can certainly streamline the process and help to minimize your penalties.
If you're convicted of a DUI, you'll face administrative penalties from the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and criminal penalties from the court. Depending on your specific offense, age, and driving history, you could receive penalties such as:
- A revocation of your NV driver's license:
- 1st offense: 90 days.
- 2nd offense (within 7 years): 1 year.
- 1st offense: From $400 to $1,000.
- 2nd offense (within 7 years): From $750 to $1,000.
- Community service.
- Jail time.
- Car registration suspension.
- Completion of a substance-abuse treatment program.
- License reinstatement fee: $121.
- Victims Compensation Civil Penalty: $35.
- SR-22 and other fees.
DUI penalties in Nevada will increase in cases where you had a minor in the vehicle, refused a BAC test, or drove with an open container.
For more information about DUI penalties and DUI charges, please go to our DUI & DWI in NV page.
NOTE: If your DUI offense caused a death or serious injury, you could face 2 to 20 years in prison and $2,000 to $5,000 in fines.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!