Replacing a Lost Registration in New Mexico
If your registration has been damaged or gone missing, your first move should be figure out how to replace it quickly. Luckily, you’re in the right place.
The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) has several avenues open for you to take care of this issue. Read on to learn what steps you need to take to replace your lost, stolen, or damaged items.
Duplicate Plates & Decals
If your license plate needs replacing, jump over to our guide to license plates in New Mexico for details.
If your plate decal has been lost, stolen, or damaged, contact your local MVD office or the MVD’s information office at (888) 683-4636 for information on replacing it.
Obtain a Duplicate NM Registration
The MVD allows you to replace your registration card:
- In person.
In either case, be ready to provide your:
- Driver’s license.
- Zip code.
- Vehicle identification number (VIN).
- Plate number.
- Postcard control number.
- Payment for the $3.50 duplicate registration fee.
If you lease your vehicle, there may be additional documents or information required. Please contact your local MVD office or the New Mexico MVD at (888) 683-4636 for special instructions.
Need help finding your VIN?
Find your VIN on your vehicle’s:
- Dashboard—on the driver’s side against the windshield.
- Door jamb on the driver’s side.
In addition to the information listed above, you will ALSO need your e-mail address to replace your vehicle registration online.
Visit the MVD’s online portal and:
- Navigate to the section for replacing a vehicle registration.
- Follow the prompts to request your duplicate registration.
- Provide payment for the:
- $3.50 duplicate registration fee.
- $1.55 online processing fee (determined at checkout).
To replace your registration in person, visit your local MVD office and request one. You may be required to prove your identity as well as provide the information listed above. See the MVD’s list of acceptable documents you can use to prove your identity.
Reporting Lost Registration or Plates
If your vehicle registration, license plates, or license plate stickers are lost or stolen, consider reporting them to your local law enforcement agency. Although reporting a loss or theft isn't required, filing a police report can help in case someone commits a traffic offense or is involved in an accident using your license plates or vehicle registration. It can also help if the loss or theft results in identity theft or other fraudulent activity.
In addition, if you car is damaged due to the theft of license plates, your car insurance company may require a police report if you make a claim to have the damage repaired.
Finally, reporting loss or theft to the police can protect you if you are stopped by the police while you're waiting for your new vehicle registration, license plates, or stickers.