DMV Point System in New Mexico
Online Course -
Our course helps you learn quickly and easily, using state-specific questions and easy-to-understand answers.
- Study When & Where You Want
- 24/7 Customer Support
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Years after his gun-slinging gallivanting through New Mexico, we still remember Billy the Kid as one of the most prolific criminals the Wild West has seen. Comparably, points on your driving record serve as a reminder of past traffic citations, long after you've paid the required fines.
On this page, you'll learn about the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division's (MVD) point system, which is used to monitor the traffic tickets you receive.
Points & NM License Suspension
If you're accustomed to driving yourself around, accruing enough points on your NM driving record could bring big changes to your daily routine.
The number of points you accumulate determines the length of your license suspension:
- 7 to 10 points in 1 year: Suspended for 3 months at most.
- Your license will only be suspended if a New Mexico municipal or magistrate court recommends it.
- 12 points or more in 1 year: Suspended for 12 months.
For serious offenses, like DWI, the Motor Vehicle Division will automatically suspend your driving privileges.
Check out our suspended driver's license guide for information on reinstating your license.
Knowing how many points you have means knowing how close you are to license suspension—something you want to be prepared for!
Check your NM driving record TODAY and save yourself the worry tomorrow.
New Mexico MVD Point Schedule
The severity of each traffic violation determines its point value; the worse the offense, the more points it carries.
Below are some common traffic tickets and their corresponding point values. For the complete point schedule, head over to the NM Motor Vehicle Division's motor vehicle laws.
Traffic Tickets with Lower Points
Here are a few examples of traffic tickets that'll add 2 points to your NM record:
- Driving a defective vehicle.
- Failing to use turn signals.
- Using incorrect child restraints.
- Overloading your car with passengers OR cargo.
The MVD will add 3 points to your record for citations including (but not limited to):
- Careless driving.
- Failing to yield right of way.
- Following too closely behind another vehicle.
- Illegal passing.
- See the MVD's legislation for specifics on speeding thresholds.
You'll receive 4 points on your record for failing to yield to an emergency vehicle.
Tickets with Higher Points
Depending on how fast you're driving, you could receive 5 points OR 8 points on your New Mexico driving record for speeding. Take a look at the Motor Vehicle Division's motor vehicle laws for details.
You'll receive 6 points on your record if you're ticketed for:
- Passing a school bus unloading/loading students.
- Reckless driving.
- Street racing.
If you're ticketed for an offense carrying a high amount of points, you could be required to plead your case in traffic court. Check out our guide to fighting traffic tickets for tips on preparing for court.
DID YOU KNOW: Completing a NM defensive driving course could get you discounts on car insurance. If traffic tickets are driving up your auto insurance rates, enroll in a defensive driving course ASAP!
Clearing Your NM Driving Record
The NM Motor Vehicle Division will automatically remove points for a traffic ticket at the end of the 12th month following the citation's issuance.
Unfortunately, the MVD does not allow you to take a defensive driving course for point reduction.
The best way to keep a clean driving record? Continue to drive carefully and keep brushing up on New Mexico's traffic laws.