Driving Records in New Mexico
A personal driving record can be obtained via the New Mexico MVD. A potentially faster and more convenient option is to get a copy of your driver record from our approved partner.
Driving Records for Employers
Driving Records in New Mexico
A New Mexico driving history record shows violations and infractions related to your driving history, including moving violations, driver's license points, and DWI convictions.
Checking your NM driving record is important, since your car insurance company or employer may view it to determine your employment opportunities or New Mexico insurance rates.
About Your NM Driving Record
The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) keeps records of licensed drivers and fulfills record requests.
A New Mexico driving history record shows the past 3 years of a driver's history, with some exceptions. It includes the following:
- Points for moving violations.
- DWI convictions (remain on your record for 55 years).
- Traffic tickets.
- Accidents in which you've been involved.
- Driver's license suspensions or revocations.
- Other driving-related infractions or convictions.
You can order an unofficial copy of your driving record for yourself, or an official, certified copy for employment, insurance, or legal purposes from the New Mexico MVD.
Ordering a New Mexico Driving Record
You can order driving records from the NM MVD:
- Online (unofficial copies only*).
- In person.
- By phone.
- By fax.
* When you order online, you can only get your unofficial driving record. If you need an official, certified copy, order it in person, by fax, or by phone.
To view an unofficial copy of your driving record, use the Online Driver History Records Service.
You will need:
- Your New Mexico driver's license number.
- Your date of birth.
- The last 4 digits of your Social Security number.
- A VISA, MasterCard, or American Express credit card.
The fee for an online driving record:
- Non-Certified Driver Record $6.63.
- Certified Driver Record $9.99.
To request a driving record in person at an NM MVD office, you will need a completed Confidential Records Release form (MVD-11260).
When applying in person, you do not have to pay a fee for your record.
DO NOT bring highlighted documents—the MVD will reject them.
You can fax the Confidential Records Release form (MVD-11260) to the New Mexico MVD at (505) 827-2792. Make sure to include:
- Your name.
- Telephone number with the faxed form.
You will receive the driving record by mail.
DO NOT submit highlighted documents—the MVD will reject them.
To order a driver history record by telephone, call the NM Motor Vehicle Division at (888) 683-4636.
Correcting Your Driving Record
If you find incorrect information on your driving record, call the New Mexico MVD at (888) 683-4636 to report the error. If necessary, the MVD will research the error and contact you within 48 hours.
Since car insurance companies, employers, and other agencies can view your driving record, be sure that all of the information on it is accurate and up to date.
Confidential Records Release
Authorize the release of your personal NM MVD driver OR vehicle records to yourself OR someone else for purposes allowed by law.
|Download Open the form|