Traffic Tickets in New Jersey
Up-To-Date Ticket History Check!
For a low monthly fee, you can access the traffic tickets, moving violations, and court documents of anyone in the U.S.
Disclaimer: TruthFinder cannot be used for employment or tenant screening. TruthFinder is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Report Act. Please note that this is a subscription-based service.
Continue reading this page to learn more about what to do if you receive a traffic ticket in New Jersey.
NJ Traffic Ticket Fines and Penalties
Receiving a traffic ticket in New Jersey may result in:
- A heavy fine.
- Court costs.
- Points added to your driving record.
- Too many points can lead to a driver’s license suspension.
Your traffic ticket will show your total fine amount.
NOTE: If you have too many points on your driving record, or are charged for certain offenses, you may be assessed additional yearly surcharges on top of your fine.
Our Ticket Fines & Penalties page has more information on:
- Fines and penalties resulting in a driver's license suspension/revocation.
- Avoiding a driver's license suspension.
Pay a Traffic Ticket in New Jersey
NOTE: Your traffic ticket will indicate whether a court appearance is mandatory.
If you must pay surcharges in addition to your fine, these can be paid:
- By calling (844) 424-6829.
- By mail (with a check or money order) to:
P.O. Box 1502
Moorestown, NJ 08057
NOTE: Be sure to pay your traffic ticket fine before the listed due date to avoid further penalties.
For more information, see our Paying Traffic Tickets in New Jersey page.
Complete a Defensive Driving Course
In New Jersey, completing a traffic school course may:
- Remove points from your driving record.
- Avoid a driver's license suspension from point accumulation.
NOTE: You cannot have a traffic ticket dismissed by completing traffic school.
For more information, visit our point reduction (traffic school) page.
Fight a NJ Traffic Ticket
To fight your traffic ticket, you must plead “not guilty" in court. Depending on your violation, you may already have to appear in court, but if not, you'll need to schedule a hearing.
Visit our Fighting Traffic Tickets page to learn more.
NOTE: For additional guidance, you may want to seek legal representation from a traffic ticket attorney.
Lost Your Traffic Ticket?
If you've lost your traffic ticket, contact the traffic court in the county where you received the ticket. Be ready to provide your:
- Full name.
- NJ driver's license number.
- License plate number.
You should ask for the following information:
- Fine amount.
- Court ID.
- Ticket prefix.
- Ticket number.
- Complaint number.
- Hearing date (if applicable).
Fines & Penalties for Commercial Drivers
If you have a commercial driver's license (CDL), you must notify your employer within 30 days of receiving a traffic ticket in New Jersey.
You may face higher penalties as a commercial driver. For example, you could receive a CDL suspension of 1 year for:
- Driving ANY vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher.
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle with a BAC of 0.04%.
- Refusing to submit to a sobriety test.
NJ Traffic Tickets: FAQs
Still have questions? Please visit our Traffic Ticket FAQ page for more information about topics including:
- Benefits of driving records.
- Hiring a NJ traffic ticket attorney.
- Dismissing a traffic ticket in New Jersey.
- Student drivers.